Nothin’ But the Truth

Happy Thursday and Happy Cinco De Mayo everyone! Do any of you have any big plans? If so, what are they? (drinking tons of a margarita?) Today started out like any other–got ready for work and hopped on the bus to the city. I started off my day with some Fage greek yogurt mixed with some Cascadian Farm Cinnamon Crunch Cereal. I must confess, I am seriously obsessed with this cereal.

mmm obsessed? yes.

About two hours later I. Was. STARVING. So I went out and bought this…

Can I not WAIT until I take the picture?


I think I need a little more substance with my breakfasts–overnight oats always does the trick but I’m thinking of incorporating eggs a bit more. Thoughts?? Do any of you eat eggs for breakfast more often than not? It’s sounding like a good idea…

I was pretty pumped when lunch rolled around..

I stay fresh to death! πŸ˜› (get it?)


I came up with a pretty good salad if I do say so myself. Into the mix went:
-About 2 cups of lettuce (I think I used Italian Blend?)
-About 3 oz of grilled turkey breast, chopped
-About 1/4 cups grapes sliced in half
-One stick of Sargento light string cheese, chopped into little cubes
-Splash of olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette
-Optional: A bit of salt and pepper to taste
*Directions: Toss all ingredients together… BAM!

I intended to have those raspberries on the side… but they eventually made their way into the salad combo as well.

Once I got home, I was greeted by the friendliest of faces:

Where'd you go mom??


I need a hug, mom


Okay, so they weren’t actually looking at the camera, but in my defense, every time I arrive home, they just want to snuggle in my lap! Be still, my heart.

I mean, I can’t…

Okay enough with Spanky and Mopsey–onto dinner! Dinner was super simple and delicious. I decided to create a breakfast burrito, but instead of the typical ‘eggs and cheese’ breakfast burrito, mine consisted of fat free cottage cheese!

Cottage Cheese, Please!


This super easy wrap includes:
-A Joseph’s Lavash Wrap
-2 tbsp any sugar free jam you prefer + 1 tbsp low fat cream cheese
-1/2 cup fat free pineapple cottage cheese
-2 tbsp crushed walnuts
*Directions: Wrap up and devour!

I enjoyed my dinner alongside some watermelon and cantaloupe. This was truly the perfect Spring time dinner!

After work, I began thinking about honesty. I want to be 100% honest in my blog. In my everyday life I am the most honest person you will meet — I can easily tell someone my opinion and/or will let you know what I’m feeling at any given moment. I need to be more honest with myself, though, about what I am eating. I’d say about 70% of the time I scarf down eat very nutritious foods. Sometimes I over-do it. Over-do by eating healthy you say? No, I over-do it in the areas where I’m snacking here, eating a hard candy there. I’m not being totally honest with myself about the ‘odds and ends’ of what it means to be healthy. Or healthy in my life at least. This June I have one of my best friends weddings, in which I am a bridesmaid and I want to look dang good πŸ˜‰ ! So for the next 4 weeks, I am pledging to be totally honest! It’s time for me to reign myself in a little and take a break from the ‘oh I just stuck that spoon in the peanut butter again’ type thing. This doesn’t mean I’m not going to have fun OR deprive myself of the occasional indulgence–heck no! It just means I am going to be more ‘aware’… and with this, I am totally satisfied πŸ™‚

Do you ever feel like you need to ‘get a grip’ on what you’re eating or drinking? What usually helps you to get your habits back into perspective?

17 responses to “Nothin’ But the Truth

  1. Steph! You absolutely need to add more eggs into your breakfast routine! I try to eat eggs everyday bc they are one of the only breakfast foods that keep me full and they are just delicious! I usually mix some veggies in with mine too or some salsa and Mexican cheese! Oh it’s banging you should go for the eggs!

  2. Cool blog Steph! It is so awesome to see such a transformation and growth in you! =) I LOVE the Kind bars… I went through a phase of eating tonssss of them for a while! Great job on the Half, I was doing super well with running but have been a total slack-ass lately (school and teaching is overly demanding!). Good luck with the blogging πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Sarah!! How’s everything in Hawaii? I appreciate you supporting the blog πŸ™‚ Running the half marathon was one of the hardest things I have EVER done.. but totally rewarding!

  3. Steph! So I was planning on getting into bed and scoping out Facebook a little but then I started reading your first blogg. Then the second and third and fourth and pretty soon I was all caught up! So happy I finally got a chance to read them and I absolutely love it all! Especially the pictures. That’s my favorite. πŸ™‚ keep it going and I’m so happy for you. See you in June for my wedding!

  4. Ahh I’m so proud of you hunny!!! I must say I read your blog everyday and I love it! When I saw your breakfast post I figured I would let you in on my daily breakfast that keeps me full for hours! It’s actually a recipe from a book by Kimberly Synder (celeb nutritionist) and it sounds gross but its actually delish!! It’s called the Glowing Green Smoothie. You should definitely give it a try if you want to stay full longer or it’s a good drink to have throughout the day if you’re feeling hungry.

    Ingredients:
    1 1/2 cups water ( I usually put 2 so its smoother)
    1 head organic romaine lettuce, chopped
    3-4 stalks organic celery
    1/2 head of a large bunch or 3/4 of a small bunch of spinach
    1 organic apple, cored and chopped
    1 organic pear, cored and chopped
    1 organic banana
    Juice of 1/2 fresh organic lemon

    optional:
    1/3 bunch organic cilantro (stems okay) –( I put the cilantro in and my it makes suchhhh a difference!)
    1/3 bunch organic parsley (stems okay)

    Good Luck with your blog and I’m looking forward to following you! xox

    • Hi Regina! This juice sounds awesome — I am definitely going to give it a spin. I’m also going to research a bit on Kimberly Synder and maybe I’ll write up a post on her! I appreciate you following Steph Snacks, SO SO much. xoxo

  5. Eggwhites should do you the trick. Barely any difference in taste. If you like them scrambled or as omlets. Im kinda curious in how you’d make them. Every picture you have of food looks so appetizing and looks as if it were prepared by Bobby Flay.

    • So funny! You have set the standards quite high for me, Bobby Flay status! I usually use three eggwhites and add a little bit of salt and pepper for some extra flavor. I really feel like the salt and pepper create a bit difference even though I use them sparsely. Then, I spray the pan with PAM and cook the eggs on medium. I always like to add a mix-in, and generally add the mix-in (whether it’s smoked salmon, cheese, or veggies) within the first minute of cooking so all of the flavasss can mingle together πŸ™‚

  6. I follow the apex diet so it’s kinda not an option to throw in other foods into the mix with the eggs. But you’ve inspired me to place the cheese on the eggs while I cook them. Vuala! A swiss cheese omlete. Thanks!

  7. Blueberry, vanilla and cashew kind bar? WHATTTTTTT?!?

    • YES. IT WAS HEAVENLY. I purchased it at Starbucks but I also went to ShopRite (my local grocery store) the other day and they were carried in the nutrition aisle.

  8. Okay so I fell behind on my reading, but caught up with you this morning! (Whewww) This particular blog got me excited because you started talking about eggs! Sounds weird, but I am a protein machine. I think protein is by far the most important part of any meal, and most people overlook their protein intake at breakfast because the options are limited, especially early in the morning. I used to eat whole eggs growing up, then obviously as you get older you start paying more attention to the fats and cholesterol and calories so I switched over to egg whites (boo). Being the busy, broke, college student that I am, I went with the carton of egg whites–whuck! It took some getting used to, but I eventually got accustomed to them in my omelets and on toast. BUT THEN…. when I started training for another one of my figure competitions I needed all the flavor I could get out of any of my meals. Everything I was eating was already steamed or grilled with limited salt-free flavoring spices so when it came to my eggs I GOT REAL. I now scramble up 3 egg whites with 1 whole egg every morning. Its the flavor of whole eggs with 1/4 of the fat and cholesterol and ALL THE FLAVOR! yumm πŸ™‚ Thats at least 15-20g of lean protein at breakfast! Plus, the yolks contain many important vitamins and healthy fats that our body could use after [hopefully] an 8 hour fast through the night. Combine that with complex carbs found in whole grains, wheat or ezekiel bread, or oatmeal and you have yourself a simple hearty breakfast that will keep you fueled all day long. πŸ™‚

    • I have been through all ‘egg types’ as well and I have to agree that I am generally the most full after scrambling a whole egg + three egg whites together as well. However, if I put some sort of protein (turkey bacon, smoked salmon) into the mix of three egg whites, I get pretty full then, too. Oh and I always add a littttllleeee tiny bit of salt to any egg I am scrambling! A pinch goes a long way.

  9. Steph!! First I love you πŸ™‚ second there’s this omlette recipe from weight watchers which I absolutely LOVE. its however many eggs you want with a handful or two of spinach, 1 tbsp of feta cheese, and one or two tomatoes chopped up. I like to cook the omlette with the spinach mixed in and then add the feta and tomatoes when I’m ready to eat it .. sooo good!

    • Marie thank you for reading the blog – and you know I love you too! That omlette sounds off the charts! I think the feta and spinach mix sounds wonderful ❀

Leave a Reply

