Post-Workout Smoothie

Hi Everyone! This day is GORGEOUS and I’m lovin’ it! After completing a great workout that consisted of 5 miles on the treadmil followed by arms with my friend Rebecca, I headed out of the gym to run some errands. By the time I got home, I was starving! A smoothie sounded like a great idea to me. I threw the following in a blender and enjoyed every bite:

-1/3 cup 0% Fage plain greek yogurt
-1/2 cup Almond Breeze unsweetened almond milk
-1/2 frozen banana
-1 cup spinach
-1 tbsp coacoa powder
-1 tbsp chocolate protein powder
-1 pinch of xanthan gum (a great idea I got from Julie at PBFingers)
Directions: Blend until you get a nice, smoothie consistency and then, obviously, devour!

Perfection


I added in about 2 tbsp of Ezekiel 4:9 Golden Flax for some added texture.

I definitely recommend this after a long workout! It totally hits the spot! What do you usually eat post-workout?

4 responses to “Post-Workout Smoothie

  1. Hi Steph,
    I don’t really have a go-to post workout meal. Just whatever I’m the mood for in that moment. That being said, smoothies are great, especially when you’re in a hurry and ready to get something into your belly ASAP.

    Ezekiel brand cereals is one of my favorites, but so pricey…and such a small box! Wish they sold it at Costco, but I don’t see that happening. 😉

    Thanks for reading my blog – just added you to my blogroll. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. Post workout snacks/meals are the most important part of the workout! We need to refuel our body to help repair muscle tissues and replenish glycogen stores. My go-to is definitely a whey protein shake- vanilla whey, vanilla soy milk, banana, cinnamon, and honey. If I am craving something more substantial, I’ll add some peanut butter.

    Its not for me, but if you enjoy chocolate, I’m sure it tastes great with chocolate protein/milk as well.

  3. i love the fact that you added spinach! i do that- its a great healthy filler. i want to add that cilantro is a good one too! apple juice sweetens that up in a smoothie.

Leave a Reply

