Movin and Shakin

I am so glad to be sitting down and writing this post — this Saturday has just flown by. From the moment I woke up it was go-go-go. I slept in until 9:30 and made my way out the door to run some errands and to head to the gym. Prior to heading out, I had about 3/4 cup of dry cereal to tide me over through the workout. I never want to eat anything too heavy because I fear my workout won’t be as good! What do you usually eat pre-workout? I am running a five mile race tomorrow morning in Hoboken (NJ), so I didn’t want to do anything too strenuous, even though a five mile race ain’t all that long šŸ˜‰ !

My workout consisted of about 3.2 very quick miles on the treadmill, followed by some abs (I will show you a favorite move of mine in a few moments!) Actually, even before I headed out the door, I swung over to Eating Bird Food, where there is a fantastic six or seven minute ab workout video. I highly recommend it šŸ™‚ It got me pumped for the gym!

Got home and created my Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie!

Is it bad that I want another?


In the mix:
-3/4 cup almond milk
-1 cup fresh strawberries, slightly frozen
-3 tbsp 0% Fage plain greek yogurt
-1 tbsp coacoa powder
-1 tbsp chocolate powder
-pinch xantham hum
-2 ice cubs

On top, which is optional, I tossed in some Cascadian Farms Cinnamon Crunch Cereal and Chia Seeds. For me, a little added crunch isn’t an option, it’s necessary!

Right after slurping up my smoothie, I had to spend a couple hours doing some consulting work. I figured I needed a nice pick-me-up after, so where did I go?

Can you guess from the green straw?


If you guessed Starbucks, you’re right! I can never get enough. Today’s order was a grande iced coffee with a pump of mocha and soymilk. Ahh heaven!

I wanted to show you guys a great workout move that zones in on the ‘love handles’ and sides. I’ve been doing this move for a little while and I think it’s pretty appropriate to show you now since bathing suite season is practically here! Start with a 7.5-10 pound weight in your right hand, down at your side facing in. Feet are hip-wide apart, and left hand is on your waist. Then, as you see in the picture below, bend down to the right as far as you can reach.

Then, straighten back up and bring the weight right up to the side of your chest.

Continue this nine more times for a total of ten reps. Repeat the same exact move on the left side, ten times. It’s that simple! For this move, complete three sets of ten on each side.

Question(s) of the night: I know I asked you already, but what are some foods you eat prior to working out?? Also, did you enjoy the addition of the workout move in the blog post? Some of you had requested workout tips šŸ™‚ Would you like to see more?

Have a great night!

9 responses to “Movin and Shakin

  1. I eat bananas before working out! Also i heard eating fresh apples and dry almonds give u tons of energy. Is this true? Ps. Im loving your blog steph…i read it like everyday haha prob bc i love you!

    • Apples and almonds both provide energy. Apples have vitamins (B) and any type of nut has protein, in turn creating a burst of energy! Thank you SO much for following the blog, Maya, I love and miss you too!

  2. Yes absolutely more workout moves!! I love the pictures too. I’ve been looking for a good love handle move, can’t wait to try it!

  3. Good luck in your race tomorrow. I almost never run the day before a race and almost ALWAYS (unless it’s a marathon) go for a 2 miler 2 hours the morning of the race. That 2 miles loosens everything up and gives me enough time to recover and run a good race.
    As for pre-workout food: Training – I will have either 1/2 banana with 1 tsp PB or 1/2 an energy bar (my hubby has about 1/4 cup of raisins). Racing – for 5K and 10K’s, I’ll have 1/2 a banana with 1 TBS PB. For 15K’s and Half’s, I’ll eat the whole banana and 1/2 an energy bar. The marathon… that’s a different story šŸ™‚

    • I didn’t wind up getting to run in the race šŸ˜¦ It was pouring, thundering, and lightning by me this morning.. so disappointing! But I am going to take a yoga class. Thanks for the pre-workout foods, you have a nice mix!

  4. OMG Steph! Thank you for that tip…now hopefully i have those weights in the house. I’ve already lost 9 lbs and would like to get to 115 if my body allows it to. This little work out will definitely come in handy for Matt and myself. Thanks again! And hows yoga?! I’d like to get into a introductory class but don’t exactly know where I’d have to go for it. Or should i stay simple and buy a video of it?

    • Yoga classes are available in Nyack across from Strawberry place; I forget the name though..I believe they have all levels, which is great. I took one at my gym, and loved it!

  5. Pingback: Movin Shakin

Leave a Reply

