Change of Plans

I am supposed to be running a five mile race right now. Obviously this didn’t happen 😦 When I woke up this morning, it was thundering, pouring, and we saw streaks of lightning – definitely a no go. While we were bummed, there was really nothing we could do to prevent the weather! So we decided to head out for breakfast (I ordered an un-pictured egg white veggie frittata) which was delicious. Plans for the day include yoga and and nails — the perfect Sunday.

I wanted to take a second to write about guilt. My friend Rebecca and I were supposed to run the race this morning, and when I discovered we really couldn’t run it, I feel oddly ‘okay’ about it. In the past, I would have felt totally guilty and probably would have forced my way there somehow, even in knowing how bad the weather was. I have been able to come into a place where I kind of shrug my shoulders and think, ‘well, okay, now what?’. This is a huge difference for me. Do I feel guilty sometimes about eating one too many treats? Or having one too many glasses of wine? Sure do. But can I get over it much quicker? Sure can.

While not being able to run today due to bad weather probably seems like nothin’ big to most people, others have a really difficult time adjusting and changing his/her plans. I am really proud to say that I am in a place where I don’t feel a slave to guilt or burdened by guilt anymore. It is the absolute worst ‘friend’ in the world.

I know this post is kind of random, but is all has to do with being able to let yourself live — and live the way you want to. It’s a gray and rainy Sunday, and what better way than to start with a wonderful breakfast followed by yoga and nails? Why would I have ever felt guilty about this in the past? I’m not so sure when or how I changed. But all I know is that I’m proud to be where I am.

Have a wonderful Sunday 🙂 !

Question: What are some things you tend to feel guilty for? How do you get yourself out of the funk?

2 responses to “Change of Plans

  1. Sorry you didn’t get to do your run… It is totally pouring here too! Hope your week gets better from here on out! Love you blog by the way!
    -Emily in CT

Leave a Reply

