Trial and Error

Hello, hello! We are creeping our way through the week, thank goodness! It’s been quite a busy one… today I came to a realization, but I’ll save that for last. I want to share with you all this granola bar I picked up from Starbucks today during my coffee run (grande iced coffee with one shot of coconut, do it, you won’t regret it). It’s called the Two Moms in the Raw Granola. I had been wanting to try this for a while now, and with a grumbling stomach, I knew it would probably make a great snack.

I Know You Want Me

What I was really struck with was the ingredient list — everything was totally pure and natural. The bar is organic and that is something I can definitely appreciate! All in all, I really liked this bar–I only ate half, but it kept me full for a little while until it was time for lunch. I could really taste the cinnamon and all of the flavors really complimented each other. I want to say that I would buy this again, but for almost $4.00, that may not be happening for a while :\

And now we have lunch. Remember a little over a week ago when I said I was trying to be totally honest about what I eat in order to better control my diet? Well, I can definitely say I have been trying (with the cheats here and there–okay okay I know) but I haven’t really seen results. I think, for me, I am someone who really needs to incorporate more protein and relax with the carbs/sugar. Even though I don’t eat THAT much bread and really don’t eat pasta, carbs are in hidden places, unfortunately. Bananas, cereal, a wrap, it all adds up. My salad today filled me up to the max and I felt totally satisfied:

Saaalllaaaaddd Attack


This salad was filled with about 4 oz of chicken, a few veggies, and dressed in a light raspberry dressing. I was full for over five hours. Shock! As someone whose body is VERY sensitive to what I eat, meaning I gain and lose weight in about two seconds, I think incorporating more protein and reducing the carbs will help. Wish me luck!

As promised, here you’ll find three easy and delicious lunches as a follow up from yesterdays easy breakfast ideas! Tomorrow you’ll be seeing a fabulous dessert recipe as part of Katie’s dessert feature! So stay tuned!

Easy Peasy Lunches

1. Chinese Chicken Salad — 3 oz chopped chicken breast, 2 clementines, 1 tbsp sliced almonds, 1/2 red bell pepper (sliced), 2 tbsp scallions. Dressing–1 tbsp soy sauce + 1/2 tbsp honey + 1/2 tbsp olive oil mixed together (some crushed red pepper is optional).

2. BLT — 2 slices lowfat Rye Bread, 2 pcs turkey bacon, 4 slices tomato, Lettuce, 1 tbsp fat free Mayo.

3. PB Wrap –1 low call wrap (70-120 cals), 1 tbsp nut butter, 1 tbsp any low sugar preserve, 1/2 apple, sliced, 1 or 2 tbsp raisins.

Question of the night: What diets generally work best for you? High protein? A balance of both protein and carbs? Dairy?

13 responses to “Trial and Error

  1. That PB wrap sounds AMAZING!!!!

  2. girl! you just discovered in the raw bars?? they have awesome stuff in whole foods. as for your questions- I try to sub out any type of wraps and bread when I can- for example, rather than a chicken wrap in a tortilla- ill use a large piece of red leaf or romaine lettuce. I balance my protein/carb in take with “good” carbs like veggies and beans. I just read a great article on this that I will be discussing on my blog, soon!

  3. Salad looks good! Raspberry dressing is wonderful πŸ™‚ Diets are so hard for me. I’m still trying to figure out what works best. Right now I’m trying the Dukan Diet which is a high protein diet. I’ll let ya know how it turns out!

    • Raspberry dressing is so good! I tried a mango dressing that I liked the other day, too. Let me know for sure how the Dukan Diet goes – I am interested to know πŸ™‚

  4. As a personal trainer, I see and hear about all the “diets” out there. And I put that in quotes because a diet is what is consumed and so many people are just starving themselves or searching for that magical pill. The body can make dramatic changes when the RIGHT amount of protein is consumed. Unlike fat and carbohydrates, the body does not store protein, and therefore has no reservoir to draw on when it needs a new supply. So do we just graize on meat and protein shakes all day?? No….well kind of. Haha. We should all try to incorporate a protein source into everything we eat in order to meet the recommended amount of 20-30% of our caloric intake. (1 gram of protein=4 calories). A very simple way to figure out how many grams you should be getting per day is to get at least 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight. More active individuals should try to get 1.5 grams.

    • I am so happy you are reading my blog, Ryan, because you have such a great insight! I have never been someone who craves and really LOVES meat – however, I really do enjoy fish. Personally, I accept that sometimes I eat too many sweet/carby things, so by switching it up a little (hard boiled eggs over oatmeal) will do me some good. But I will make sure to have a happy balance!

  5. I need everything! I always have to have carbs, dairy and protein, otherwise I go straight for the bad stuff!

    • There’s something to be said for ensuring everything is included in a ‘diet’ (I really don’t like that word). I have never tried to minimize a specific food group in my life ever, but I’m intrerested to see if a lower carb/lower sugar intake will work for me!

  6. Loving all those lunch options!!

    New to your blog… love it! Happy I found you!

    Mary
    http://delightfulbitefuls.blogspot.com/

  7. Pingback: Do You Remember Your Prom? |

Leave a Reply

