New Shtuff

Monday came and went – yay! I had quite the busy day and am glad to say it is over, I’m really looking forward to this coming weekend. My friend Rebecca and I are going to Cape Cod for the long weekend and we can’t wait for some sun, shopping, food, and drinks! My parents were originally supposed to come but now they have work and/or meetings.. womp womp! Can’t say I mind having a house to myself near a lake and delicious restaurants 😉

Today was all about trying new things! At least for me. I started out with a breakfast of the following:
-One cup 0% Fage Greek Yogurt
-Handful of Blackberries
-2 tbsp Ezekiel Golden Flax
-One Tbsp Barlean’s Blackberry Omega Swirl all mixed together

I’m a newbie to the omega swirl; actually, my mom introduced me to it just this past weekend. What I really like about this product is that it is seriously packed with good for you stuff! It contains Flaxseed Oil, Omega 3, 6, and 9 Fatty Acids, and is 100% Vegetarian Plant Based amongst others. A big bonus is that there are a ton of different flavors to choose from (chocolate raspberry? um, YES) and it made my yogurt even creamier. An awesome way to start the day.

I seemed to make a mistake when reading Katie’s post last week. You have to feature a vegan treat that you enjoy the most in order to be featured! Not just any treat! With not much time to bake, I decided to pick up a Vegan treat on my way home from work and came out of the store with the following:

Since it was right before dinner, I didn’t want to eat the whole thing, but I didn’t want to wait around having a brownie stare me in the face either. So I did what I do best–‘sampled’ it:

Vegannn Brownieeee!


The verdict?? Pretty darn good! It had a different consistency than a regular brownie/blondie, but still cured any sweet tooth. I’ll finish this baby before bed time no problem.

Dinner also included a newbie… Tempeh! While I must admit, I have had tempeh before, I never had this amazing flavaaa:

Drool

I have to admit to you guys, the sesame garlic flavor is pretty bold, so if you don’t like really flavorful stuff, this isn’t for you I’m sad to say. But my taste buds loved it! I decided to chop a few pieces up and toss it into a salad that included the following:
-Mixed Greens
-Chopped Orange Bell Pepper
-Chopped Avocado
-2 triangles of Laughing Cow Cheese
-Croutons
-Fat Free Italian Dressing

This salad definitely packed a punch with the sesame garlic flavor – that didn’t stop me from eating every single bite 🙂

Question of the night: Have you tried anything new food-wise lately? If so, what was it? Did you like it?

7 responses to “New Shtuff

  1. chocolate-katie

    Awww you are awesome!! 🙂
    So sorry 4 the confusion. I’m excited 2 feature u!

  2. I love boldly flavored tempeh. One of my fave things to do with it is crumble it into a pan and cook it with bbq sauce til it’s all caramelized. Amazing.

  3. I baked tempeh last night. I buy the non-flavored kind. It’s just so easy to do – like tofu, it takes on any flavor you couple with it.
    As for new foods, I’ll have to say the avocado with cocoa which resulted in a fantastic chocolate pudding. It was a weird combo but AWESOME result.

  4. Pingback: Vegan Eye Candy

Leave a Reply

