Homegirl Had a Bad Day

Hi All! Before diving into my day, let me show you my breakfast and lunch, which I think were pretty good for a plain ‘ol Tuesday.

Breakfast:

Making Mornings Better!


Before leaving for work, I made myself a three egg white omelette with diced avocado, arugula, one triangle of Laughing Cow Cheese and a little ketchup on top! On the side, I enjoyed some delicious blackberries. I can’t seem to get enough blackberries this Spring. I’d say this breakfast was a total of 260 calories including my large iced coffee.

Lunch was super easy, as it was a pre-made Vegetarian Salad Sandwich from the local health food store in my town.

Sooo Good


I really love these pre-made sandwiches. They are pretty calorie-friendly, yet keep me full for at least three hours. I know that it seems like a huge sandwich, but if you look closer, there is a humungo piece of iceberg lettuce in there to make it seem bulkier. Tricky, tricky 😉 I believe this sandwich is a total of 220 calories. Throughout the day (literally before breakfast and after lunch) I grazed on pecans and almonds.

Okay so down to the good stuff. Or not so good stuff. Today I was definitely not on my A-game. I knew it from the moment I woke up. I was literally hot and bothered about everything. I awoke bright and early and was able to get in a fifty minute workout, which was great, but the gym was so dang HOT! Usually I’ve been pretty positive about the heat level in the gym by thinking ‘hey, whatever, you’re sweating more which is good! Sweat = good!’. But today, nada. I just wanted some AC!! So off I went to take a cold shower before going to work.

I think it may be that it’s been a year since I have graduated (congrats to all of my friends who graduated from FIT today!!) but I have just felt off the past week or so. I’ve really been thinking about where I am in my life vs. where I thought I would be. I guess I am having a sort of internal conflict? While everything is great right now, I can’t seem to just stop thinking. Whether it’s about friends, living at home, working out, whatever, I think my brain is on over-drive, yet not. I feel somewhere in the middle and can’t figure it out.

For the most part, I’m pretty happy with the person I am becoming and feel like my life is truly amazing. But I think what I’m trying to say is that I feel like I’m waiting for something. I can’t exactly pin point it, but in my heart of hearts I feel like something is ‘off’ or just not 100% all there. The person who probably knows me best, my mom, immediately felt my unease and suggested I workout or take a walk. My first response was, ‘no I have a lot to do mom, you just don’t get it!’. But then, about five minutes later, I stopped acting like a twelve year old and realized that maybe she does get it, and maybe I do just need to go for a walk, or do a mini workout. So that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

It’s not easy to pin point where I’m coming from, and I’m sorry for rambling, but I’m being totally honest on my blog and I totally had an off day! Let’s just say I can’t wait to be in Cape Cod this weekend!

Question of the Night: Have you experienced some ‘off’ days? How do you deal with them?

6 responses to “Homegirl Had a Bad Day

  1. Mom’s are always right! haha and I have so many off days – and they often happen at the same time of year – I notice September is always a hard month for me – at least when it was school. Lots of changes and new things are always a bit overwhelming. I try and keep reminding myself that I know this happens to me every year and that I know I get through it just fine.

  2. babygirl, you have no idea how many of those i have! ups and downs are a part of life. although im sure you already know that. its just important to keep it in perspective. I feel a lot of what you and i and probably most people our age are going through is very natural and normal. we are at a very pivotal time in our lives right now. it will be this way for a while i believe. every decision, more than ever, is going to have a great impact on our not so distant futures. i think thats why inside, it feels like its not all there. its not supposed to be. we expect so much from ourselves, we forget we are only what..22, 23! not that our age should define our goals and where we should be at, not that being young grants us a pass in anyway- but we have to remind ourselves to let go a bit. ride the waves..ride them out. continue to stay positive and remind yourself constantly of your accomplishments and blessings because you have come soooooooo far and i am SO. INCREDIBLY. PROUD. of you my love!

    how i deal? I write, i take time for myself. i love taking walks. i cry, i get frustrated, i get happy, i just feel. i let my self feel until i am sort of sick of it and then it passes and things are ok again. you’re allowed to have off days. you are also allowed to buy yourself some flowers and light yourself some candles.

    x
    natty

    • What would I do without some Natty in my life?! I definitely agree that this time seems a little transitional, more than I ever really expected. It’s kind of easy to suppress those feeling by going through the daily routines. It’s been more recently that I have been kind of like ‘What? I’m 23? Now what?’. Never really expected that to happen. Working out and walking yesterday really helped to put my mind at ease. Love you!

  3. Debbie LoPrinzi

    My dear sweet Stephanie. Slow down and enjoy the ride! One of the many phenomenoms of your generation is that not only do you want it all but you want it fast as well! Case in point — turn on your computer or smartphone and the world is at your fingertips. Nice but innovation like this does not transfer into living our lives. You need to start an abundance journal where you can write about all your blessings and accomplishments. Or use your wonderful blog to do it! Whatever and how ever u do it, just remember that life is a journey not a destination. Enjoy the ride!
    P.S. Nicole and I are sitting here having lunch while she enjoys one of your great culinary creations of a wrap with peanut butter, jelly,apples and raisins! Yummy, just like u!

    • Hi Mrs. LoPrinzi! I hope you are enjoying your memorial day weekend 🙂 I am SO glad that Nicole enjoyed the pbj and apples! Thank you so much for this encouragement — you’re totally right; sometimes it’s all about disconnecting from everything and being able to reflect on how far we have come. Often times, I forget about that.

Leave a Reply

