Happy Birthday Spanky!

Today is a wonderful, wonderful day! Three years ago today my lovely little doggy, Spanky, was born! Anyone who knows me knows how much I love Spanky. Don’t get me wrong, I adore my other dog, Mopsey, but from the moment I saw puppy Spanky running around the dog pen at the pet shop, I knew he was the dog for me. (Just as a side note–I adopted Mopsey this past November, he was a stray and 12 or 13 years old! We’ll never be quite sure of his age). Before being able to celebrate Spanky’s birthday I had to get through the work day.

I went to the gym this morning bright and early to complete a workout that looked like this:
-10 minutes of running on the treadmill (levels of speed ranging from 5.8-7.3)
-15 minutes of abs (crunches, side planks, stability ball lifts, etc..)
-10 more minutes of running on the treadmil (again, levels of speed ranging from 5.8-7.3)
-10 minutes of arms (push ups, tricep work, curls, etc..)

Once I got to work I dove into my breakfast:

🙂


-3 egg white omelette with smoked salmon and spinach.. to. die. for. Oh yeah, and ketchup on top!
-Half of a Udi’s Gluten Free Bagel with a bit of berry preserves

Throughout the day I snacked on some almonds and walnuts, but eventually got around to a delicious lunch…

Tempeh Salad Feast!


Even though you can’t really tell by the picture, there was a bunch of Tempeh and cheese goodness in there with some chopped orange bell pepper! I used Balsamic Vinaigrette as my dressing. I don’t know about you, but I enjoy balsamic vinaigrette so much. There’s such a great balance of sweet and acidic which gives any salad a great kick.

I was so excited to get home to Spanky in order to do the following:

Such. A. DORK.


Just let it go guys, I love my little Spanky 😀

Now it’s time for dessert!

PBJ&C--Peanubutter Jelly and Chocolate!


I don’t think there’s any better way to enjoy a Vitatop 🙂

Question of the night: Do you celebrate your pets birthday? Be honest! 😛

8 responses to “Happy Birthday Spanky!

  1. Steph you and Spanky are sooo cute!! Happy birthday Spanky! I of course celebrate my Maggie’s bday. September 29th you’ll find me at petsmart celebrating her 15th birthday..my old lady 🙂 your omelet makes me STARVING btw

  2. What a lil flufff!! We don’t know my cat’s birthday (rescued her), but when my pup was still alive (she passed a little over a year ago) we always celebrated her bday…it fell on the 4th of July, too – perrrfection!

    • I’m sorry about the loss of your pup! I know how much that hurts 😦 You must have had a blast on the 4th–I can’t think of a better way to celebrate!

  3. Aww this is so cute! Happy Birthday to Spanky. I use to celebrate my dog’s birthday every year when he was alive. We would buy a little cake and celebrate with the family lol 🙂

  4. I need to buy those Vitatops! The PBJ is what did it for me.

Leave a Reply

