Fresh Veggie Sandwich

Hey Guys! I’m posting earlier than usual today… because I’m sick šŸ˜¦ around 2:00-3:00 PM yesterday I started feeling super achey and couldn’t control my coughing. Then last night I woke up with the chills and heat spells non-stop. Usually after a day of rest I feel better but I’m a little concerned because I don’t feel better at all… let’s hope this thing goes away by tonight!

I thought I’d show you guys a super simple but super yummy sandwich I made a little while ago. I got the recipe from Jorge Cruise’s Belly Fat Diet Book. I think it’s a great recipe for Spring or Summer, when you don’t want to eat anything too heavy!

In order to make one sandwich, I adjusted the amount of each ingredient a little. Here is what you will need:

-2 tsp low salt butter
-1/2 portobello mushroom, sliced
-1/2 tbsp red wine vinegar
-1/2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
-1 tbsp dijon mustard
-3 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
2 slices of Life Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted 100% Whole Grain Bread
-2 or 3 slices of roasted red peppers, sliced
-1/4 cup sliced cucumber
-1/4 cup alfalfa sprouts
-3 tbsp fat free or low fat feta cheese

Directions:

In a skillet over medium-high heat, melt butter. Once butter is melted, saute the mushrooms until they are golden. Set mushrooms aside. Add vinegar, oil, mustard, and chopped basil to blender and puree until smooth–then transfer to a small bowl. Lay out your bread and spread the basil-mustard mixture on each slice. Build sandwich by layering the bottom slice of bread with mushrooms, red peppers, sliced cucumbers, sprouts, and feta. Add the top slice of bread to finish the sandwich and you’re ready to eat this:

Good Texture in Here!

Question: What’s your favorite sandwich? Do you prefer them to be hot or cold?

5 responses to “Fresh Veggie Sandwich

  1. Aww, I hope you feel better soon, girly! Sorry you’re sick! šŸ˜¦

    That sandwich looks great!

  2. umm yummmm! hope you feel better šŸ™‚

  3. I love portobellas!! This sandwich looks super yummy!!

    I hope you feel better soon – it’s no fun being sick šŸ˜¦

  4. Looks amazing, I love veggie sandwiches. Feel better!

Leave a Reply

