A Festive Fourth Salad

Happy Fourth of July!! I hope you’re having a ton of fun at a BBQ or some sort of party.

This past week I have been eating really bad–well, really bad for me. Many, many more carbs than usual, lots of sweets, and lots of wine. Today, I wanted to get back on track to eating more consciously. For me, it always helps to begin my day with a healthy breakfast which gets my mind back into a ‘health-oriented’ mode.

This morning, my breakfast included an egg white omelette with two slices of low fat cheese and a few cubes of avocado. On the side, I enjoyed sliced peaches and strawberries drizzled with a bit of low fat maple syrup.

Iced Coffee, too! Duh πŸ™‚

After breakfast, it was gym time. I completed a three mile run along with the Fitnessista’s Firework Blast workout. I was a hot mess when I left the gym–just how I like it πŸ˜‰

Recipe time as promised! This one couldn’t be easier. Yesterday, I made a ‘4th of July Salad’ for my family party and it was a hit! Here’s how to make it:

-Five Cups of Mesculin Lettuce
-1/2 Cup of Blackberries, washed
-1/2 Cup of Sliced Strawberries, washed
-1/2 Cup of Sliced Mozzarella Cheese ( or if you’re a cheese lover, even more πŸ™‚ )

Directions: Place the lettuce into the bowl. On top of the lettuce, scatter the blackberries, strawberries, and cheese. Make sure to keep everything on top so that the colors show like this:

Pretty Patriotic, huh?

I served mine with a simple balsamic vinaigrette and drizzle of olive oil.

Question of the Night: Did you make anything festive for the Fourth?

6 responses to “A Festive Fourth Salad

  1. That salad looks great..and so appropriate πŸ™‚

  2. I love berries and balsamic vinaigrette in salads – so good!!

  3. Yumm…sounds delicious! We didn’t really do anything, so I didn’t make anything exciting. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

