Open Bar

..No, not that kind of open bar πŸ˜‰ today for lunch I decided that I’d treat myself to a lil’ salad bar action at a cafe across the street from my work. Generally speaking, salad bars aren’t my absolute fave since most of the items are picked over, but this salad bar in particular is super nice and kept incredibly well.

After feasting my eyes upon tons of different choices, I decided to go with the following..

Are there enough greens on my plate?


1. Green Apple, Walnut, and Fennel Salad
2. Calamari and Shrimp Salad
3. Romaine Lettuce with an Herb Vinaigrette

This was, by far, one of the best lunches and salad from a salad bar that I have ever had. The apple was so crisp and was paired perfectly with the fennel. The calamari was fresh and chewy, but still firm while the shrimp was so sweet. The herb vinaigrette added a nice touch, too.

Question of the Night: Are you a salad bar person? Which foods do you generally choose at a salad bar?

6 responses to “Open Bar

  1. Salad bars are the best..they’re a great way to eat what you WANT with minimal added ingredients.

  2. I used to be a much bigger fan of salad bars than I am now. I think college has kind of ruined them for me! It’s often the only way I can get greens into my diet but it gets really boring after a few meals, but sometimes we get lucky and they’ll throw in some craisins or goat cheese πŸ™‚

    • Oh gosh, I totally remember my college’s salad bar… terrible! Maybe you can bring little baggies of your favorite salad mix-in’s with you (nuts, garbanzo beans, croutons) to spice it up a bit!

  3. Pingback: WIAW |

  4. Pingback: Ice, Ice Baby |

Leave a Reply

