Butter

No, not that kind of Butter–this kind of Butter:

Last night, I met my two friends, Brittany and Krystyna, at a restaurant in downtown NYC called Butter for NY Restaurant Week. Restaurant week occurs twice a year in the city–it’s a time when almost all restaurants offer incredible deals during lunch and dinner. Lunch usually runs around $25 for an appetizer, entree, and dessert, and dinner is generally $35 for an appetizer, entree, and dessert. The menu is pre-fixe, and you’ll have anywhere from three to four options to choose from in all three categories.

Side note–this is what I wore to Butter:

Blouse–Forever21
Skirt–H&M
Shoes–Coach at Marshall’s

Upon entering Butter, Britt, Krystyna, and I were very enchanted by the interior:

Today Was A Fairy Tale..

After catching up, we perused the menu while enjoying some corn bread bits with, what else–butter!

This picture really does the corn bread and butter no justice. The butter reminded me of sour cream, cream cheese, and chives, all rolled into one. I loved how the butter perfectly complimented the corn bread.

For my appetizer, I went with the mesculin greens with roasted peanuts, goat cheese, and sherry.

The peanuts and goat cheese were on the bottom of the dish, but believe me when I tell you how tasty they were!

The fish of the night was salmon, and that sounded fantastic to me.

It was sooo yummy! Grilled veggies accompanied the salmon and I only wished there had been more.

For dessert, I chose the lemon sorbet over watermelon, garnished with mint and sesame seeds.

To be 100% honest, I wasn’t thrilled with this dessert. However, I did like the watermelon chunk because the lemon sorbet melted right into it, making the watermelon extra sweet! I should have went with something chocolatey.. darn!

Overall? A very worth while restaurant to go to. The food was so delicious, the service was great, and I loved that the atmosphere was intimate yet brought a sense of outdoors inside. While I didn’t have a drink, I did spy several one or two that I would have loved to try. But, really, I was just so happy to catch up with my two friends 🙂

Question of the Night: Have you ever ordered a dessert and been disappointed? Or do you like anything sweet?

20 responses to “Butter

  1. I’ve very rarely disappointed with dessert! I’m a sweet tooth through & through!

  2. Matt (Steph's Man Snack)

    Ohh your so Gossip Girl

  3. Matt (Steph's Man Snack)

    Do you know your website look so different on an iPad than on my Laptop?

    • If you’re looking at StephSnacks on an iPad, you can scroll to the bottom of the page and you will find a link that says, ‘View Standard Site’. Click that and it should look the same as if you were viewing it from a lap top.

  4. I love it when restaurants do that!!!! Toronto does a similar thing twice a year. It’s the only time I get to go to the fancy-pants restaurants 🙂

  5. I have been DYING (ok, I exaggerate) to go to Butter NYC. I go to the one in Charlotte a lot (just a night club, no restaurant) & love the interior so I’ve always wanted to see the original. Glad you had fun!

  6. Your outfits are always adorable!

    So sorry dessert was disappointing. I always go with the chocolate dessert; I can’t help myself! 🙂

  7. I’ve been wanting to go to this place forever! Sorry your dessert wasn’t very good…I usually stick with something chocolatey, like Jess said, and it’s usually the best option!

  8. I LOVE your outfit!! So adorable! And the DC area has a great restaurant week, too. Such an awesome idea!

  9. I love the look of the restaurant but THOSE SHOES! How cute!
    As for dessert, I never order dessert. I don’t even eat the sweets I make. Most people think I’m nuts but I prefer to create the taste in my mind. It’s like reading a book then seeing the movie – it usually disappoints because your mind creates perfection.

    • Thank you!! The shoes are Coach and I got them for $50 at Marshall’s… can’t beat it! I like your analogy about eating sweets — I usually have at least one small sugary something a day, though! I just can’t help it.

Leave a Reply

