Strawberry Shortcake in a Bowl

Ever since joining the lifestyle/foodie blogging world, I have been more and more enticed with breakfast. Before reading food blogs, I never knew how many meals one could make with oats, greek yogurt, and eggs. I now have a brand spankin’ new perspective of breakfast and how wonderful it can be. Yesterday I had one of those ‘I’m really, really sad this breakfast is over’ type of feeling once I was finished with my delicious creation. I knew I had to share it–I can’t keep something this good to myself. It’s just not right.

I call it Strawberry Shortcake in a Bowl and it couldn’t be easier to make:
-3/4 cup 0% plain greek yogurt
-about 5 sliced strawberries
-3 tbsp plain oats
-heaping tbsp light maple syrup (plus an extra drizzle on top)
Directions: Simply mix all ingredients together and drizzle some extra maple syrup on top. You only really need to put this in the fridge for an hour or two, so all of the ingredients can combine together.

Voila:

Simple and Satisfying


This was soooo yummy and such a nice way to start the day! I also think it would be good to have some crumbled angel food cake.

Taking a different spin… this morning, I saw two young girls, and I mean like 10 years old, on the elliptical at my gym. I was kind of struck by this and found it so strange to see such young girls on a machine that seemed to dwarf them even more. Something about it just didn’t feel right. I’m a big advocate for having children run around in sports and play outside in order to keep their bodies moving, but on an elliptical? It just doesn’t seem right… what do you think?

Question of the Day: Have you ever seen young kids working out at the gym? What are your feelings about it?

12 responses to “Strawberry Shortcake in a Bowl

  1. AHHH I so agree- the blog world inspires major breakfasts!! its awesome!!! and yeah wow that is SO sad about those girls being on the elliptical- i dont think thats right either, i agree with you. kids should be out running around and playing, not worried about fitness!

    • I know! I really didn’t like seeing those little girls on the elliptical, it bothered me. I think it sends the wrong message somehow, even though they are keeping active.

  2. I’m not sure how I feel about it. I don’t really agree with it, but because of the growing competitiveness in middle school/high school sports, kids are forced to worry about keeping up with fitness all the time so that they can keep up.

    • You’re definitely right about how high the competition has become amongst middle/high school kids. In some aspect it’s nice to have some friendly competition, but on the other hand, we have to make sure it’s not taken too far.

  3. I love that strawberry shortcake bowl! Looks delish!!
    I have mixed feelings about young kids working out at the gym. I think it depends on the class and/or what they are doing. I’ve seen Moms come into spin class with their 9 year old daughters and think, “Why in the world would you bring them to this class?” I love that they are encouraging fitness and want their children to be active, but what about running around outside or playing group sports? And you’re right – when you see a young girl (or boy) on an adult-sized fitness machine, it just doesn’t seem right. Their bodies are just too small for it!

    • I agree – there’s the one aspect of staying active, such as running around during gym class and outside with friends, but on then there’s the extreme of seeing a ten year old on an elliptical — I felt like she was going to fall off it and be trampled 😦

  4. omg this is genius I love strawberry shortcake but for breakfast would be amazing!!

  5. The blogging world has definitely inspired me to use more Greek yogurt, pb, and oats! ;D

  6. Today at the beach, I saw a little girl (maybe 9 years old) jogging along the beach, led my her dad. Not play running or anything…jogging. My sister and I were shocked! The little girl gets back to her group and some man shouts “Look how skinny you’re getting!” My sister and I looked at each other with our jaws dropped. I hope this little girl gets told praises other than about being skinny. Thats 100% how a complex will develop for her.

  7. Pingback: WIAW |

Leave a Reply

