Body Talk

Hey, all.. how was your day? Good, stressful, fun? I’d love to hear 🙂 Well, I’m going to talk about they verrryyy beginning of my day–AKA, my 5:00AM personal training session. Before that, let’s take a quick peek at one of my obsessions–random, I know:

The Camera Loves Spanky... Spanky Loves the Camera

I had to, I’m sorry. He’s so cute! Love my little guy.

Anyway, this morning I woke up bright and early at 4:30 in order to head to my 4th personal training session. I have literally been loving every single session. My trainer is so incredibly tough, but is very in-tune to how the body is feeling. If I ever wince or make a ‘strange face’ even for a moment, he immediately asks if something hurts and/or if I have pulled anything. It made me really start to wonder how many times I have over-looked any little pains, sharp pulls, or odd cracking noises. Um, a lot.

I have a pretty annoying history when it comes to my back. Generally speaking, my back gets much, much more tight than the average persons and at an insanely fast rate. I remember my chiropractor always semi-laughing that he could never actually get my back to crack and that he had never seen a back to tight before in his life. Winning!… Not 😦 Needless to say, I have seen a chiropractor on and off for the past eight-nine years.

During my last two personal training sessions, my back, especially the lower part, has started to get that numb, dull, painful feeling during certain exercises. At first, I tried to be really tough and fight through it. Eventually, though, my trainer could just tell I wasn’t feeling 100%, and started being really mindful of certain exercises we do.

I must admit that even though I am kind of bummed that my back is acting up, I am proud that I can actually own it and say ‘Yeah, um, can we stop doing this move? My back feels like a bunch of bricks are about to crack on top of it’. Normally, I’d fight through the pain but I’ve learned that not everything is about fighting and ‘getting through’. You have to listen to your body and really treat it as kindly as possible. I certainly don’t want to be crippled at 25 for something I could have prevented! So for now, I’ll continue to work my booty off at training sessions, without breaking my back–quite literally 😉

Question of the Night: How many times have you ignored your body’s ‘signs’? Do you try to be in-tune to what your body is telling you?

7 responses to “Body Talk

  1. Waking up at 4:30 is serious business! I’m impressed!

    I usually overlook possible “signs” that I should stop, which definitely isn’t good. Actually, I noticed my lower back has really been bothering me after BodyPump on Saturday & today, & my knee was feeling kind of funny too so I’m thinking I need a break… guess I’ll get that on my honeymoon! 🙂

  2. Wow, 5 AM training is some serious stuff. You rock!

    I overlook stuff often, but know I (and all of us) need to listen to my body. It will thank us later in life when we can move!

  3. Both this past year and when I was a senior in high school, I swam through a torn rotator cuff. I never went and got it fixed because I couldn’t stop swimming until the season is over. Now, my shoulder cracks a lot, but nothing is seriously wrong. If I were to continue competitive swimming and overworking it, I could end up needing surgery! At least now it is my option to stop when I feel the warning signs of pain!

    • It seriously astounds me at how much skill you have at swimming. I’ve never been a great swimmer so I always admire anyone who can truly swim. Keep your eye on that rotator cuff, girl!

  4. Pingback: The End of the Box |

Leave a Reply

