Chinese Chicken Slaw

Can we take a hott second (literally) to talk about how dang HOT it has been in NY this Summer? I’m not certain about all parts of the country, but NY has been experiencing a particularly scorching Summer. I can’t walk down the street without wanting to pass out! EW. How is it where you live??

I have such a satisfying dish to share with you in tonight’s post, and what I like about it most is that it is so Summer-friendly. Crisp, light, refreshing, and filling. Just what I want to eat during these muggy months.

For the Chinese Chicken Slaw you will need the following ingredients:
-1 package thin cut chicken breast
-1 package of broccoli slaw
-1 can of water chestnuts
-1 can of mandarin oranges
-4 stalks scallion, chopped
-1 cup of Newman’s Low Fat Sesame Ginger Dressing

This recipe is simply fail-proof! All you have to do is the following: Grill the chicken until fully cooked. Once cooked, set aside. In a large bowl, place the broccoli slaw, water chestnuts (drained), mandarin oranges (drained), and chopped scallions. Toss those four ingredients together. Next, chop up the chicken and mix it into the tossed veggies/oranges. Lastly, pour the dressing over the entire bowl and fold all ingredients together.

Once you have everything mixed, place the slaw into the fridge for at least an hour or two so that the ingredients can ‘mingle’ together. The flavors will be much more bold this way 🙂

Question of the Night: Is it super hot where you are this Summer? How are you keeping cool?

12 responses to “Chinese Chicken Slaw

  1. I feel ya! I am from PA and this heat has been outstanding! I used to bike to the gym, but I can’t even fathom doing it anymore! Plus, my apartment doesn’t have air conditioning! Basically, I sit around in my sports bra with the fan blasting on me…or I go places that have air conditioning such as the grocery store, gym, library. Anywhere to get out of the heat!

  2. I’m not too far from NY, but it’s also been extremely hot in PA too! I’d take the warmth over the freezing cold winter though!

  3. It’s definitely raging hot here in PA/WV too! I think the whole country is in a heatwave, but I’ll take this over snow/cold ANY DAY. 🙂

    I want to try that dressing…I love anything ginger!

  4. Love the slaw. I always buy broccoli slaw. just LOVE the crunch of water chestnuts, and lite ginger dressing is my absolute favorite!

    As for temps., we’ve had a perfect summer in Utica NY. Based on what we get for the winter, we dare not complain. 🙂

  5. Love that we share a love for broccoli slaw 🙂 haha – great recipe! It’s good stuff and makes such a great salad!

  6. It is definitely super hot, Miami is not joke! Loving that chicken slaw, I like simple yummy dishes 😀

Leave a Reply

