Simply Filling

Let’s all raise a glass to Monday being over! Eh, I’m kinda’ kidding–I had a pretty good Monday. How was yours?? I started off with a heart-pumping workout at the gym. 30 minutes of cardio on the treadmill followed by a circuit I found in Women’s Health Magazine which included 2 sets of 15 reps of the following:
-Body Weight Squat
-Pushups
-Bent Over Row with L-Raise
-Plank
-Cursty Lunge

I’m pretty sure that not many people know exactly what a ‘Bent Over Row with L-Raise’ move is so I will be happy to demonstrate in a near-future post! This circuit was perfect when paired with 30 minutes of cardio. I wish I could have completed 45 minutes but my legs were achin’ from the personal training session I had Saturday. I know, I’m a big baby. Wah! (Snooki-style).

Once I arrived home, I decided it would be smart to double check that the bus which takes me into the city for work was still on schedule due to Irene and her madness. As of last night, all buses were on schedule–but whattya know, things literally changed over night. No buses OR trains were running 😦 UGH. Pain in my ass booty. I emailed my boss to let her know the situation and luckily I was able to work at a different facility which happens to be very close to my house! Damn Irene, I’m totally over you.

Because the facility I worked at today is literally 15 minutes from my house, I was able to enjoy breakfast at home:

In the mix:
-1 cup 0% greek yogurt
-One tbsp of Barleans Mango Omega Swirl
-Two tbsp light maple syrup
-1/4 cup Honey Bunches of Oats cereal
-A spoonful of almond butter on top

Loved this breakfast! Once lunch rolled around it was pretty late (2:00) and I wasn’t overly hungry. Good thing I packed a simple yet filling lunch:

Premier Protein Shake

Along with…

Edamame

I know it seems like kind of a weird combo, but it worked. Dessert was two sugar free chocolate nips!

By 5:30 I was starving. I knew I had a dinner date planned with my friend Rebecca for a little after 7:00, but I needed a filling snack to tide me over:

Cottage Cheese Bowl!


Kind of looks similar to this AM’s breakfast, but this was the snack I wanted! I mixed 1/4 cup low fat pineapple cottage cheese with 1/4 cup Honey Bunches of Oats. A few almonds and a spoonful of almond butter stole the show.

Rebecca and I decided to eat dinner at a small mom and pop restaurant in a nearby town which has some pretty simple yet tasty dishes. I wasn’t overly hungry due to my filling snack, so I ordered a large chef salad which totally hit the spot.

Field of Dreams


Such a delicious mix! Italian greens with sliced cucumber, strips of roasted red pepper, a few cubes of mozzarella cheese, mini green olives, and Italian dressing. Perffecttooo.

PS–A huge congratulations to Rebecca on landing her new job!! All the best to you friend!!

Career Girl

Now I’m about to go watch some DVR’d Kardashians. Night all!

Question of the night: When you’re feeling snacky–what do you usually grab first?

17 responses to “Simply Filling

  1. Not gonna lie – I go for chocolate first. 🙂

  2. I loove fruit or fruit leather. I’m also a big fan of healthy bars!

  3. what snack i go to first? hmmm.. usually i get cottage cheese straight outa the container!

  4. Bahaha Snookie style. Love it. And I secretly love the Kardashians too. As for my go to snack…rice cakes and peanut butter. So simple and typically always hits the spot!

  5. banana and almond butter, or a red apple+cottage cheese+ cinnamon. I can’t get enough of either 🙂

  6. My favorite snacky foods are carrots and hummus or chips and salsa!

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Oo! Edamame is a snacking favorite for me as well 😀

  8. I love edamame! I go for pretzels with hummus or cheese or an apple with peanut butter!

  9. When I feel a hungry bug, I usually grab either some nuts or a protein bar, I always seem to have one of them in my desk at work or in my purse.

Leave a Reply

