Maggie Goes On A Diet

Hey All! How was your Tuesday? My mind has been literally bouncing all over the place since I am moving this Friday. Even though I’m not officially sleeping in the apartment until Friday, my mom and I are going to drop off some of my stuff at the apartment tomorrow night, so I have been pretty busy packing. Moving is a ton of work! I’ve moved approximately nine times in the past five years…. mmmyeah.

This morning started off with a tough workout at the gym. The first twenty minutes were spent on the treadmill while the following thirty minutes were spent getting my ass kicked by my personal trainer. My muscles have never screamed as much in my life as they have during my training sessions. Training is no joke!

While running on the treadmill, I leafed through the recent edition of People magazine. I love the ‘Books’ section of People because I generally find that the editors provide some pretty solid reads. Well today, under a title that read, ‘Kids’ Book Contro’, I found myself staring at a book called ‘Maggie Goes on a Diet’.


source

‘Maggie Goes on a Diet’ is about a 14 year old girl who goes from being ‘quite fat’ to becoming the popular kid in school after dieting in order to ‘reduce her stomach and big behind’. UM. WHAT THE F*#%#!? IS THIS REAL LIFE? Okay, but for real, how can books like this even be published? No wonder this was marked as controversial. I feel like this book is completely sending wrong message to young girls about body image and how to become accepted by peers. It is difficult enough to fit in during your awkward teen years, but to read a book which tells you that the only way to become popular is by losing weight is just down-right mean and wrong.

Maybe I’m over-reacting, but if I was a mother, I definitely wouldn’t want my daughter to read this.

DEFINITELY the Question of the Night—>What do you think of this book??

11 responses to “Maggie Goes On A Diet

  1. I saw this book on FitPerez…ridiuclous. It’s absolutely abhorrent that a publisher would even green light this….it’s so terrible. And apparently it also validates being skinny as making you popular and not having annnything to do with being healthy. Absolutely terrible.

  2. Omg this is a real book?!! That is so crazy :O can’t believe they are telling young girls that they need to be thin to fit in 😦

  3. I’ve heard of this book a few times now. Is it real?! I mean, I can’t tell if it’s legit or a joke. Either way, it’s pretty bad! I cannot believe something like that would even go to print!!

  4. Good luck with the move!

    I’ve moved once in my life and that was enough for me!

  5. Are you KIDDING me! This is awful. I can’t believe this was put in there…makes me sick!

  6. Ughhh as an elementary education graduate, this book ticks me off! Grrr. The last thing little girls need is to think about dieting! Why can’t kids just be innocent anymore??

Leave a Reply

