A ‘New Life’ Dinner

This week is almost done! Friday is approaching us.. yay! This means tomorrow is move-in day for me. In this morning’s post, I told you that my mom and I had moved a good amount of my belongings into the apartment last night. We were basically a scene of hot, sweaty messes by the time we were done, but this didn’t deter us from finding a place to go out to dinner! As luck would have it, we found a casual place called My Most Favorite Food right across the street (Upper West Side of NYC).

My Most Favorite Food started out as a bakery and the menu began to expand into lunch/dinner items due to its popularity. For those who are Kosher, the menu is filled with kosher-friendly items and for those seeking fresh, natural items, this is your place!

Upon opening the menu, both my mom and I were pretty pleased with how many dishes we had to chose from:

It didn’t take long for me to choose what I wanted:

Tomato Basil Soup

and…

Shiitake Mushroom Skewer

I also had 1 and a half small pieces of bread:

My mom’s dish went un-pictured but I can guarantee was super tasty; Rigatoni Melanzana–pasta with roasted eggplant, mozzarella, and tomato sauce.

Overall? The service was pretty fantastic, our waiter was attentive and quick. The two dishes I chose were good–not great–and quite pricey. The mushroom skewer didn’t have enough flavor for me but was saved by the feta cheese. I have no complaints about the tomato basil soup–it was light but full of flavor.

This was my first official ‘new life’ living in New York City dinner! And I am certainly glad that I spent it with my mom πŸ™‚

Question of the night: What are some important attributes for you when you dine out? Food, service, noise level?

6 responses to “A ‘New Life’ Dinner

  1. Yummm, good review! I’ll have to check it out next time I’m in the city πŸ™‚
    Food is definitely most important to me. I can take the noise, even the occasional bad service, but bad food guarantees I won’t return!

  2. Ahhh yayy!!! Good luck with the move! πŸ™‚

  3. Food is so important – but service is, too. If service is utterly terrible it can ruin even the most fantastic food.

Leave a Reply

