Non-Stop NYC

I can’t believe that I haven’t truly blogged in three days — that is a long time for me! I apologize that it has taken this long. NYC has snatched me up in a storm of non-stop things to do, but I’m happy to be able to sit down and fill you in now 🙂

On Thursday night, Brittany (my room mate), my friend Alexis, and I, scrambled around SoHo for Fashion’s Night Out. For those unfamiliar with Fashion’s Night Out, this is a night where the Fashion Industry (basically every designer and apparel store you can think of) opens its doors to the public for a big party to celebrate the beauty of fashion, cosmetics, accessories, and interior design. It includes celebrity sightings, designer appearances, give away’s, and endless champagne. We actually met Dakota Fanning at the Marc Jacobs store!

After struggling through the massive crowds of people, we were more than ready to sit down and eat something for a late night dinner. Luckily for us, we stumbled upon Jane, which was one of the tastiest food experiences I have had in NYC to date. After looking through the menu, I knew exactly what I wanted. I decided to order two starters, which is sometimes an even better idea when venturing out to eat; it gives you the option to discover a couple different dishes, rather than one main entree.

To start, I ordered the Watermelon and Tomato Salad:

This is a really big statement, BUT, it must be said. This was absolutely one of the best salads I have ever had. At one point, Britt said, ‘Look how giddy you are over this salad!’. Sad, but true. I could have probably polished two of these. After a fantastic salad, my second dish came out:

Salmon and Avocado Tartare

This was also incredibly delicious. I used the lightly fried crisps on top of the salmon as a ‘scooper’ to scoop up the delicious salmon and avocado. Jane was a fantastic experience. The service, chill vibe, and incredible food made for an unforgettable meal.

Fast forward to Friday evening, and my sister Gillian came into the city to spend the night with me. After a handful of recommendations, we headed to Josie’s for another awesome meal. Josie’s reminds me of a diner with ‘healified’ versions of your favorite food. To start, we were given a complimentary dish that consisted of some sort of sweet potato/pumpkin/peanut mash. Let’s just say we asked for another dish.

The mix of my Dreams

yep

My sister!

Gill and I debated for a few minutes, but we both managed to pick the most delicious main dishes. Gillian went with the Angel Hair Pasta and Turkey Meatballs:

For me, The All Veggie Meatloaf sounded perfect — ‘organic lentil, seitan, shiitake mushroom & sweet potato loaf with miso gravy & wok-sautéed greens’. Game on!

SO FRIGGEN GOOD


The combination of the mushroom and sweet potato was unreal. Every single bite was moist and packed with flavor. I will definitely be returning to Josie’s.

On Saturday, Gill and I decided to go for an hour long walk in Riverside Park. It was the perfect way to start the day.

Later in the evening, Gill, Britt and myself headed downtown to a hotel called 60 Thompson in order to celebrate one of my family member’s birthday’s. The party was held on the roof of the building and the views were nothing less than stellar:

Gill and Britt

After a fantastic roof top evening, Britt and I stayed out for a while longer and met up with my friend John for two more rounds of drinks. Our first stop was the SoHo Grand. I loved, loved, loved everything about this place. The atmosphere was incredibly modern yet intimate with the big arm chairs and couches. I ordered the SPA martini which was basically a cucumber martini — fabulous and worth every cent. PS–As soon as we walked in, Britt and I spotted Julianne Hough and James Marsden. Celeb sightings– woo hoo! Love ’em.

Before heading home, we decided to grab another drink in the village. Our conversation ranged from the new apartment, to where we will be in 20 years, to the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. Perfection.

Britt, Me, John

So there sums up where I’ve been the past three days! Again, I apologize for how long this post has taken!

On another note, on this day ten years ago New York City faced some of the most severe and awful attacks that the world has ever witnessed. May God Bless all of the men and women who died from this tragic event, and may our world find some more peace with each day.

Have a fantastic Sunday all!

Question of the Day: Have you ever had an unforgettable meal? Where did you eat it?

7 responses to “Non-Stop NYC

  1. Love it! Sounds like a lot of fantassssticness. I saw Dakota Fanning at the movie theatre in LA – I was on my way to see Alice in Wonderland – she was on her way to watch her own movie. haha

  2. You and your sister look so similar! Beautiful girls! 🙂 Looks like you’ve been having fun! That sweet potato/meatless loaf sounds awesome!

  3. You two are so cute!

    All that food looks fantastic. 🙂 I had a seafood dinner on the water in Boston last week, and the crab cakes were pretty unforgettable—so yummy!

  4. Pingback: Q&A |

Leave a Reply

