WIAW

It’s that time again! ‘What I Ate Wednesday’ hosted by the lovely Jenn. Thanks, Jenn!

This morning I woke up bright and early to hit the gym before work. I knew it was going to be a hungry day when my stomach began to rumble during my treadmill run. After stopping at Starbucks for a Grande coffee with a pump of Mocha, I was more than ready for my yogurt bowl. This is what I ate around 8:00AM:


In the mix:
-1/4 cup low fat pineapple cottage cheese
-1/2 cup 0% plain greek yogurt
-1 chopped kiwi
-2 tbsp low fat maple syrup
-3 tbsp granola
-1 tbsp sunflower butter (why haven’t I tried this stuff earlier!?)

Yeah, I inhaled this.

About 4 hours later, at 12:30, it was time for lunch. Since my office is having an event this week, we’ve been lucky enough to have our lunch catered–and everything has been relatively healthy!

Seared Tuna Salad


This salad was spectacular! It consisted of four slices of seared tuna, mini white and purple potatoes, sliced egg, olives, and string beans. Downside? Even though this meal filled me up for a couple hours, it was a bit small. It needed some more tuna for staying power. I followed this up with some grapes and two dark chocolate covered strawberries.

Random: Check out how purple this potato is…

YOU'RE TURNING VIOLET, VIOLET!

Snack around 5:00

Cascadian Farm Chocolate Granola Bar

Dinner came at 8:30 after a trip to the Doctor for a yearly physical. Man, I hate physicals! Anyone with me?

In the mix:
-Organic Baked Tofu
-Chopped Carrots
-2 wedges of Light Laughing Cow Cheese
-Joe’s Lavash Wrap
-Sesame Ginger Dressing

My eats for the day were pretty awesome! I had a pretty event amount of protein, carbs, dairy, and veggies. Not as much fruit as I should have had though, only a lil’ kiwi 😦 I need to incorporate more fruits it seems!

Question of the Night: Do you ever get hungry during a workout? If so, will you power through ’til the end or are you someone who will cut the workout short in order to get some grub?

18 responses to “WIAW

  1. I forgot to eat before a morning workout the other day and I could totally feel it. I powered through but it was tough. Oh and I love purple potatoes – cute and delicious!

  2. That seared tuna salad looks DELIC and such a healthy choice for lunch!

  3. During the summer when I work out relatively early in the AM, I don’t eat beforehand & usually get hungry towards the end of my workout. Now, since I work out around 5:30 in the evening, I usually eat a snack after school (around 3:30) & definitely start to get hungry for dinner by the end of my workout, around 6:30. I’ve never stopped a workout due to hunger though! 😉

  4. I totally get hungry during workouts (I go around 5 am before work). Since it’s so early, I haven’t eaten anything since about 630 pm the night before. I usually power through by drinking lots of water and then make breakfast as soon as I get home.

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m TOTALLY with you on hating physicals. I mean, does anyone like getting shots and prodded in awkward areas?

    I’ve gotten hungry during workouts before. I usually will just power through because I’d rather enjoy a full blown meal afterwards 😀

  6. I sometimes get hungry when I am running because I do my runs in the morning and my stomach can’t handle food before them. Since I typically run a giant loop I have to finish my workout. It is usually difficult but I am always happy that I completed it in the end.

  7. When I work out in the morning, I’m never hungry at the beginning, but towards the end I want to eat my arm!

  8. I love purple potatoes!!! We used to grow so many different types before my dad became allergic.
    Working out actually usually kills my appetite. I always have a planned meal afterwards though so I eat it!

  9. Hey Steph, I am new to your blog! But I already love the premise and we have a few things in common…a. I love to snack and b. I use the magic bullet!! You must work in a really awesome office that food looks incredible!!!!

    • I love any snacker who loves their Magic Bullet as much as I do! We happened to be lucky last week and had our lunch catered for an event we were hosting. It isn’t always like that… although I wish it was!

Leave a Reply

