Nostalgia

Hey hey! How was Monday? It felt pretty good to finish the first day of the week. To power me through the second half of the day, I packed myself a delicious lunch:


-About 3 oz of Trader Joes Savory Tofu
-1/4 cup eggplant compote
-5 tortilla chips
-Orange Champagne Vinaigrette from Trader Joes (highly, highly recommend this one)

But the best part of my lunch was what followed:

REMEMBER THESE!?

I used to love Ring Pops when I was little. Neighbors who gave them out at Halloween were the coolest. I coveted almost any flavor I got and loved to wear several on my hand at once πŸ™‚ See how mature I’ve become..

ooooooh ahhhh

Eating a Ring Pop as a 23 year old definitely made me nostalgic for my child hood. I remember also loving Charleston Chews, Candy Necklaces, and Fruit Stripe Gum:


source

Those were the days!

Question of the Night: What are some candies/foods that make you think of your childhood?

16 responses to “Nostalgia

  1. oh my god i love ring pops!! And if you have fruit stripe gum, I’m coming over NOW to get a slice LOL. But i don’t know if you remember them, or even if you liked them, but Warheads. I used to eat those things until my tongue would get a mild burn from all the acid in it. I had one about a month ago and i could not even handle it. What was my 12 year old self thinking! haha

  2. Airheads totally make me think of my childhood! Or candy cigarettes… back in the day when those were allowed, haha

  3. I love ring pops! As my boyfriend and I were enjoying our froyo yesterday, I asked him if he ever dipped his french fries in ice cream? He gave me the weirdest look, he said when he was smaller he rarely ate candy. Gah, that is one of the best things I remember about being a child! If I would even look at an Oreo blizzard dipped french fry now, I would blow up! Haha

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    FRUIT STRIPE GUM!? Oh my gosh, this brings back such memories! Were these the ones that you could chew the wrapper or something like that? Maybe I’m just crazy….

    Mac n cheese (the shapes) are the epitome of my childhood πŸ˜€

  5. Oh wow… fruit stripe gum was a fave… as was big league chew! Remember that stuff? My brother and his friends used to buy it all the time to chew during baseball so I’d snag a handful of the bubblegum shreds… grape was the best!

  6. Fruit Stripe gum was awesome!

    I agree with the other commenter who said Airheads… I love them! I even put Airheads in our hotel welcome bags for our wedding; I just assume everyone loves them as much as I do!

  7. I love and still love Swedish fish!!! And I loved that Bubble Tape gum…do you remember that??

  8. Ah fruit stripe gum! I loved it, too! Mine was definitely the little candies that look like buttons and they’re on strips of white paper!

Leave a Reply

