Crock Pot Success

Tonight I walked through my front door and smelled success. “Success?”, you ask? Yes. The smell of success. How did this happen? Simple. The magic of the crock pot. Before moving into my new apartment, I toyed with the idea of purchasing a crock pot. I didn’t realize what a great deal they were (around $35), so in my shopping cart it went. After cooking my first crock pot recipe, I can rest assured that I didn’t make a mistake.

I surfed the Internet for an easy, healthy recipe to make and stumbled upon this one which I followed more or less. To make my version you will need the following:

-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
-4 small or 2 medium sweet potatoes, cubed
-1 Apple (I used an Asian Pear because it was what I had on hand)
-1 28 oz can of tomato’s
-1 cup of low sodium chicken broth
-1/4 cup basil
-1 tsp salt
-1 tsp celery seeds
-1/8 tsp cinnamon

I did some prep work the night before (last night) so that this morning, most of my work was done. Prepping last night was pretty easy. All I did was cut the chicken into bite size pieces:

Chopped the sweet potato’s:

I placed the chopped sweet potato’s, chicken, and 1/4 cup of chopped basil in the fridge over night. I also made sure to set up everything I would need for this morning:

Crock Pot, Chicken Broth, Tomato Sauce

And spices:

All I had to do this morning was chop my Asian Pear:

Mix everything into the crock pot:

And let it do the magic!

7 hours to go!

What I really loved about the crock pot was that once the seven hours of cooking was complete, the setting automatically switches to ‘warm’ so that the meal was nice and hot by the time I arrived home from work (about 7:00PM). You can imagine how happy I was to feast on this..

Of course I had to add some corn tortilla chips...


Sprinkled a little garlic powder on top (delicious addition).

Served with Eggplant Compote on the Side

This was a majaaaaa slam dunk. I. die. (Rachel Zoe anyone??)

Night guys!!

Question of the Night: Have you ever made a crock pot recipe? Do you have any good ideas to share? I’d love some new recipe ideas!

16 responses to “Crock Pot Success

  1. Giorgio astupid bearbelly Candido

    than your apartment survived!!!! 🙂
    Actually I wasn’t even aware about the existence of the crock pot!
    I just use skillet, oil, pasta and a sprinkle of love 😀

  2. I love the crock pot! I use it at least once a week. I’ll have to give this recipe a try!

  3. I love making pulled buffalo chicken sandwiches. Basically you add chicken, franks (or other preferred hot sauce) and some ranch dressing mix (dry packet) and let it cook all day. The chicken shreds so easily when its done and is great in wraps or over salad!

  4. It was soooo delicious!!! Can’t wait to have some leftovers! Great job Chef Steph 🙂 xo

  5. I loveee crock pot mac and cheese, but unfortunately, I don’t have a crock pot of my own! I just use my mama’s when at home!

  6. Make veggie chili in the crock pot, it’s awesome!

  7. Pingback: WIAW |

Leave a Reply

