WIAW

Hellloooo What I Ate Wednesdayers, how’s things?? Anyone constantly thinking about Friday at 5:00PM or is it just me? Rahh.. anyway, let’s get into What I Ate Wednesday, thanks again, Jenn! You are a superstar!

Breakfast was fantastic; my Strawberry Shortcake in a Bowl, only this time I added a sprinkle of Chia Seeds. I devoured this at 9:30AM.

Around 12:30, I wasn’t ready for lunch, but I was ready for a snack!

Snack was a mini Cascadian Farm peanut butter bar. This held me over until around 2:00, when I needed some ‘real’ food:

I Swear this Tasted Better than it Looks..

Leftover Crock-Pot recipe šŸ™‚

Obviously I can’t control my sweet tooth so I followed lunch with 1 tbsp of honey mixed with 2 tbsp of mini chocolate chips:

Last week I went to the doctor for my yearly physical. Of course they took blood which always skeeves me out but that’s besides the point. My blood results came in today and it turns out that I am Vitamin D and iron deficient. I am totally bummed about both of these because it basically all relates to protein. I like to think that I have a healthy serving of protein.. whether it be from chicken, greek yogurt, nuts, or fish. Turns out I’m just not having enough. The doctor told me to get Vitamin D and Iron Pills so off I went to Duane Reade to purchase the goods.

I also decided that my huge lack of red meat-eating probably lead to this deficiency as well. For taste-bud reasons only do I choose not to eat red meat. It just ain’t my thang. However, I have come to the realization that it would probably be in my best interest to incorporate this food group into my diet just a bit more. So after vitamin shopping, I did a little red meat shopping. I purchased four lean red meat patties (I guess that’s what you call a hamburger??) and decided to throw one over a salad for dinner:

In the salad mix:
-1 lean hamburger (150 cal)
-yellow baby tomatoes
-1/2 whole wheat wrap
-1/4 cup eggplant campanada
-Trader Joes Goat Cheese infused with Honey (salivation nation… I’m lame)
-a spoonful of Hummus
-Trader Joes Orange Champagne Vinaigrette

I’m just really not a red meat person. I found myself eating everything BUT the burger. But, down the hatch it went, because I know that my body is desperately craving some iron. Gotta suck it up sometimes. Have a great night, all šŸ™‚

Question of the Night: Are there certain foods you just don’t like? Which foods?

17 responses to “WIAW

  1. I’ll eat your red meat for ya! Haha. Mmmmmmm steak. ā¤

    I hate peppers. I can't figure out why. I just… do. I try hard to like 'em too!

  2. i don’t like meat either, which is mostly why i’m a vegetarian. i’ve found that the meat alternatives actually taste better to me- and i’ve never been iron deficient! vitamin D deficiency could do with how you’re taking in vitamin D… if it’s mostly coming from fat free dairy sources, you’d be losing out on some of it because D is a fat soluble vitamin, so it can only get absorbed my fat. thus, your body absorbs it better when you have the fat and vitamin together. if you don’t like meat- don’t force it! there are definitely other ways to get your blood levels where they should be

  3. So sorry about your deficiencies! šŸ˜¦ That really stinks. I am not a huge fan of red meat either, so I definitely know where you are coming from!

    On a positive note, your eats today to look REALLY great! šŸ™‚

  4. I would be really careful about adding iron supplements into your diet immediately. It can be dangerous yet doctors are quick to tell you to take iron pills when blood tests seem to lean that way. You might actually be getting enough iron in your diet but being iron deficient could be due to the way your body absorbs the iron- or rather how it DOESNT absorb it. If your body is not absorbing it properly or at all and you add extra iron into the mix, it can be extremely harmful to your liver. People get liver disease this way believe it or not. I would look into getting a test done to make sure your stomach, liver and everything else are processing and absorbing correctly first. After all of the tests I have done- I’ve gathered lots of tiny bits of info that most docs never tell you! šŸ™‚ love you.

    • Thanks, Nat! I think I am going to try the iron because that it what my doctor suggested, but I will probably schedule an appointment with her in the near future in order to ensure the iron is working properly!

  5. Id love to have strawberry shortcake in a bowl for breakfast! šŸ™‚ I love Cascadian Farm snack bars..so good!
    I’ve never tried mixing honey with mint chocolate chips! Sounds delish! šŸ™‚

  6. Gahh I do not like red meat either! I dont know the last time I have had it!

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m with you, Steph. I eat everything but red meat because the taste just doesn’t appeal to me at all! I do, however, bruise really easily and I’ve heard that’s a sign of being iron deficient. :/
    I havent had red meat since 6th grade! I can’t imagine starting to eat it again. Was it hard for you to like the taste of the hamburger?

  8. Hmm, I’d have to say I’m just not a fan of potatoes. Just feels like I have a …potato sitting in my belly afterwards šŸ™‚

  9. Buy and use a cast iron skillet for your cooking as often as you can, tiniest bits end up in your food and then you- thoughless easy and meat free!

Leave a Reply

