Whirlwind Weekend

Hey guys! How was your weekend? I can’t believe it’s almost 10:00 PM on Sunday night.. ah, well, there’s always next weekend right? I had such a nice, busy, packed, enjoyable Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.. let me take you through some of it πŸ™‚

Friday night brought a birthday party at a bar called Stumble Inn on the Upper East Side. I saw a ton of people who I went to high school with and it was such a nice time:

My friend Regina and I

Things got a little CrayCray

Make New Friends but Keep the Old

Saturday was pretty much a blur — between going to the gym, running errands, shopping, and going to my aunts, I knew that I’d be in need of a chill night. And a chill night I got–Britt and I watched a quality Lifetime movie (love ’em) along with Bridesmaids. I thought Bridesmaids was very funny and kept me entertained for sure, but there were some parts where I actually felt melancholy! It was also a tad long for a chick-flick comedy…

Sunday morning rolled in and I decided to take the morning easy. It was so nice to lay in bed with a hot mug of pumpkin flavored coffee while reading magazines:


I was trying to show the steam coming from my mug… fail 😦

A lil' magazine action..

Obviously I couldn’t wait for my 12:00 brunch date with my friend Lauren so I had a little bowl of greek yogurt around 9:30..


In the mix:
-About 1/2 cup plain 0% greek yogurt
-2 tbsp plain oats
-2 tbsp low fat maple syrup
-2 dashes of pumpkin spice
-1 tbsp Better’n Peanutbutter (Low Sodium)

PS–Do you like my Cookies ‘n Milk Pajama pants??

Around 11:00 AM, Lauren came to see my new apartment before heading out to find a place for brunch. After walking for 10 minutes, we spotted Nice Matin, and decided it looked like a nice place to eat. I loved the inside of Nice Matin because it was so roomy and bright–I loved the light pouring into the restaurant.

Look at those huge light fixtures

As Lauren and I chatted away, we were brought an incredible bread basket filled with sweet cinnamon raisin rolls, mini carrot/pumpkin muffins, and a cinnamon rye bread. I am guilty of trying a piece of each–hey, they were mini πŸ˜‰ !

For some reason I can’t exactly remember what Lauren ordered, but it was something along the lines of an open faced sandwich that consisted of sour dough bread, fried egg, bacon, and and aioli spread. It looked mouth-watering, really.

I ordered the Asparagus Goat Cheese omelette but asked to have egg whites only, not cooked in oil or butter. It came with a side of delicious hash browns and a small green salad.

The omelette was so light and fluffy, with the perfect amount of cheese and asparagus. I had a few of the hash browns, which were equally as delicious along with all of the salad.

After a fantastic brunch, we meandered around and found a fun Halloween shop which totally got us in the Fall spirit:

This place was jam-packed with so much Halloween stuff!

And to top off a fantastic Sunday? 16 Handles.. admittedly, I didn’t get any because I basically have the stuff at least once or twice a week, but Lauren had a cup filled with Cookies and Cream, Black Cherry, and Peanut Butter frozen yogurt. Obviously she loaded up on toppings! The best part πŸ˜‰

One Happy Girl!

The rest of my day was filled with cleaning, a run/walk by the Hudson River, and a little dinner party which I’ll show you more of tomorrow! Have a great night!

Question of the Night: Do you like Lifetime movies?? I’m such a sucker for them. What are some shows you’re watching this Fall?

4 responses to “Whirlwind Weekend

  1. Looks like you had a great weekend Steph! I’m jealous of all of the awesome brunch options that seem to be available in NYC!

  2. I love lifetime movies haha! This fall, I am watching Glee and Jersey Shore, and have started watching The New Girl and Pan Am. Both seem awesome!

Leave a Reply

