I Got the Golden Ticket!

First of all, I love Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. The original movie, the updated movie with Johnny Depp, and the book stole my heart (does Johnny Depp not steal everyone’s heart??). But I’m not talking about that golden ticket, I’m talking about this one:

I did it, folks, I officially did it. I am now a member of the ‘gold card’ rewards program at Starbucks. I’m not someone who orders frappacino’s, cappuccino’s, or even americano’s for that matter–all I really enjoy is bold, deep taste of a good cup of Starbucks coffee (generally with a splash of some flavor–recently it’s been pumpkin). So while yes, I get a lot of the “oh my gosh you waste your money on coffee!?”, or “don’t you make coffee at home??”.. my answers are no, it’s not a waste of moo-la to me since I like it so darn much and yes I make coffee at home… but I also like to purchase it from Starbucks 🙂

Sorry for the rant! Yikes. I am actually home today and was able to enjoy a delicious bowl of this after a 45 minute walk followed by 100 crunches:

Prior to my walk, I mixed up about 1/2 cup of plain oats, 1/4 cup 0% plain greek yogurt, 1/2 cup of skim milk, 5 chopped strawberries, and a squeeze of low fat maple syrup. I was about to put my concoction in the fridge when I noticed mini chocolate chips just chillin’ on the kitchen counter. Yeah, had to put ’em in there.. why not? 🙂 I topped it all of with a scoop (or two) of extra crunchy PB. Such a filling and perfect breakfast after a light workout.

Before signing off, I want to show you all a super simple and tasty appetizer to make when having friends over. I just threw this together in a matter of 10 minutes before two friends of mine came over to see my apartment on Sunday night.

Cheesy Eggplant Bites

For this recipe you’ll need:
-2 pieces of any low calorie wrap/roll-up
-1/2 to 3/4 cup of low fat shredded mozzarella cheese (depending on how much cheese you like)
-one small eggplant
-about 2 tbsp of olive oil

Pre-heat the over to 350 degrees. Thinly slice your eggplant and set to the side. Then, place both wraps on a non-stick pan and lightly dust each wrap with a bit of olive oil. Take the sliced eggplant and place them on top of the wrap. Use your remaining olive oil to lightly coat the eggplant with. Finally, sprinkle the cheese on top and place in the oven for about 10-13 minutes:

Before

After!

Let them cool for a little bit before creating bite-sized pieces–you can do this with either a pizza roller or sharp knife, just be careful 😉 !

These were incredibly good to eat and good for you. It’s nice to have an easy recipe on hand for when friends stop by or even just for a quick lunch or dinner!

Have a great day 🙂

Question of the Day: Whose your celebrity crush? I have to say Johnny Depp or even George Clooney–but Clooney is such a player!

14 responses to “I Got the Golden Ticket!

  1. I love Joseph Gordon Levitt!! I cannot wait to see his new movie! 🙂

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m still waiting for my gold card to come in the mail!
    I’m just like you– I love the bold coffee flavors. Except for a bit of pumpkin every now and then, of course 😉

  3. That is such a good idea for the eggplant bites !!! 🙂

    And if you prefer starbucks over home made coffee… I see nothing wrong with buying it!

  4. love those eggplant bites!
    Hmmm…celebrity crush would have to be John Mayer. His voice just makes me melt. 🙂

  5. Those zucchini bites are a treat!
    I’m in competition with you for J.D as well as G.C. Somehow, I don’t think we have a very good shot at either 😦

  6. Those eggplant bites look fab! Oh, and so does skanky George Clooney. 😉

  7. Enrique Iglesias! And David Beckham. Lol. But I’m married, and happy as can be! Lol.

Leave a Reply

