Backwards Day

Hey, friends! How was your Monday? Each day gets closer to the weekend, and that makes this snacker pretttaayyy happy 😉 My Monday in particular was a little backwards. Backwards in the sense that I didn’t go to the gym before work, I went after, and I didn’t have a smoothie for breakfast, I had it for dinner!

It was actually really nice to switch things up a little bit… oh, and to sleep in too! I get practically an hour and a half more sleep when I don’t go to the gym before work. Even though my body is a little tired by the end of the work day, I figured it may be a good idea to get my butt to the gym after a day of desk-sitting. To be honest, I was looking forward to my workout all day – definitely good for clearing the dust out of my mind!

My workout included 20 pretty intense minutes on the elliptical, 5 heavy breathing minutes on the stair master, and 5 more minutes on the stationary bike for a total of 30 minutes of cardio. I then completed 100 squats holding 12.5 dumbbells in each hand as well followed up by my own mash-up of an arm workout and crunches. I’d say pretty good for 6:30PM!

As soon as I arrived home, I knew that I wanted to utilize my Vitamix and made myself a delicious smoothie.

So Shiny and New 🙂

In the mix:
-1 cup almond milk
-handful spinach
-1 tbsp chocolate protein powder
-1 tbsp cocoa powder
-1 small banana (frozen)

Topped with Trader Joes Cereal and Chia Seeds

Totally hit the spot 🙂 The rest of my evening includes cooking some chicken in the crock pot over night and chillaxen!

Question of the night: Do you like chocolate or vanilla? I’m a total choco-holic. Coffee or tea? Coffee all the way!

11 responses to “Backwards Day

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Here in the blogosphere, I don’t think it’s unusual at all to have a backwards day. Cereal and oats for dinner is just another day in the life 😉

    Oh & coffee, without a doubt! I do like tea though, but it really just holds no comparison.

    • I have to agree–foodies just kind of roll with it! And coffee all the way 🙂

      • I loved your Green Smoothie Disguised and am anxious to try gliarc, ginger and salt and pepper in my smoothies. Didn’t realize how uncreative I was being. LOL! We’ve been using our Vitamix 1-2 times a day since May. I understand your enthusiasm for this amazing machine. Did you know you can make your own almond butter, too? I roast the almonds with a little olive oil, sprinkle with salt, then blend in the Vitamix. Delicious!

  2. I’m definitely a chocolate person! And DEFINITELY coffee!

  3. Chocolate all the way!!

  4. Ah weekend weekend is it here yet? This wknd is fall break for me, too…so I can’t wait. I like vanilla!

  5. I am having serious Vitamix envy right now. I have the Magic Bullet, but it just hasn’t been cutting it lately.

Leave a Reply

