RARE and a Birthday

Hi, friends! It feels like I haven’t posted in so long, when it’s really only been two days.. this weekend went so quickly! I hate how it feels like the weeks are so long but the weekends just fly by. Damn that 5/2 ratio. Again, I definitely think the weekend needs to be three days.

I had another one of my typical busy, busy, busy weekends. Friday night I headed to my parents home to visit my grandpa and stayed through until Saturday. It’s always so nice to see my family, including these two rascal’s..

On the Prowl..

Saturday morning I completed a three mile run and a half mile walk at the gym as well as a few sets of crunches. After my workout I thought it’d be a nice idea to bring back some donuts for everyone, just for a little treat! Let it be said that my household rarely ever has donuts in it.. my sister and I used to love them so much when we were little; especially the kind with pink frosting! Yum πŸ˜€

My Dad Instantly Ate One

During my Dunkin Donuts pit stop, it was pretty difficult for me to resist a few munchkins, so I purchased a couple to have with my post-workout meal:

The above would be an egg white omelette with some low fat shredded cheese and a side salad topped with some roasted red pepper and raisins. I loved the combo of the red peppers and raisins because of the contrast in flavors; it made for a really good side salad. But obviously my two lil’ munchkins stole the show; one was with some festive Fall sprinkles and the other was pumpkin flavored. Let’s just say I could have easily eaten five more pumpkin munchkins, it was that delicious. I forgot how incredibly tasty munchkins are, it had been that long since I had had one! 😦 Not good.

On Saturday night, I headed back into the city to celebrate Rebecca’s birthday. So many birthday’s this month! Our plans were to go to a restaurant called RARE and then meet up with everyone at the bar.

Rebecca's Friends Hank and Sonya

The Birthday Girl and I

I don’t know how best to express how impressed I was with RARE. As soon as I walked into the restaurant, I knew I was bound for an impressive meal–the smells coming from the kitchen made it tough to wait for my order. As soon as we sat down at our table, we received menus and placed our drink orders. My eyes darted all over the menu because everything sounded sooo delicious, Rebecca and I agreed that no matter what, we would definitely split a side of sweet potato fries.

I didn’t get pictures of Hank and Sonya’s meals but I did manage to get Rebeccas. She went with the Vegetarian Stuffed Portabello Burger, which included portabello caps, goat cheese, spinach, and sun dried tomato’s served on a home made sweet toasted bun with pickles.

drooling.

I decided to order the Garden Vegetable Burger Salad; love my veggie burgers. My meal came with cilantro lime aioli, sliced avocado, served over spinach salad with red onion, tomato, and a lemon vinaigrette dressing. Holy CRAP. I was blown away by my meal and the sweet potato fries Rebecca and I shared. My veggie burger was light yet packed with vegetables and a hint of cilantro, which was really nice. I could definitely tell it was home made. The lemon vinaigrette dressing was also incredibly delicious; I actually forgot to ask the waitress to serve it on the side (as I generally do with salads) but was happy to figure out that it wasn’t too heavy or too light. Just right!

The best part of the fries was the maple dipping sauce it was served with. I think it was some sort of maple syrup, honey mustard, and oil combo. Whatever it was I wanted to drink it and take it home. Not really. Kind of. No, yeah I definitely wanted to ask for a goody bag of that stuff.

Then the birthday festivities began!

Laughing's My Favorite

We had such a fun night and I especially loved when Rihanna’s ‘We Found Love’ came on, as it’s definitely my new favorite jam so of course I had to scream it at the top of my lungs.

Welp, that’s a wrap! Have a great night everyone πŸ™‚

Question of the Night: What is your favorite restaurant of all time? What do you usually order?

8 responses to “RARE and a Birthday

  1. Mmm…a veggie burger salad. One of my faves πŸ™‚ And a good dressing to take it over the top. πŸ™‚
    My fave restaurant is Bonefish Grill and I always order the chilean sea bass with lime tomato garlic sauce. So good!

  2. Looks like a fun weekend!

    Hmmm my favorite restaurant is probably Seasons 52. It’s impossible to pick one “favorite thing” because their menu changes seasonally!

  3. Aweeee Munchkins are my favorite!!! They remind me of when I WAs little and we would head to my grandma’s house for sleepovers! She always had Munchkins! I would say my favorite restaurant is probably Max and Ermas which I believe is a local restaurant for me! But totally yummy! πŸ™‚

  4. caloricandcrazy

    Fav restaurant…hmmmm….Pick Up Stix….get the orange and/or kung pao chicken but replace it with tofu….take out never tasted so good!

Leave a Reply

