A Friend In Need

So lately I’ve been thinking a lot about friendship. Friendships can be fantastic, tough, weird, tricky, and just plain fun. It’s pretty interesting how my meaning of ‘friendship’ has changed over the years. I’ve had plenty of people come in and out of my life, and I’ve also had a couple handfuls of people stay with me throughout everything. I’m not a perfect friend–I’m not a perfect anything. But I’m a good, caring, thoughtful friend and I know what I want in a friendship.

When things get really shitty, I can list off a few people that I know would sit with me on the phone as I ball my eyes out. When things are going incredibly well, I also know that I can call these same people, and that they will say, ‘when can we celebrate??’. Friends love you, support you, never cross you, and never judge you.

That being said, I received a most thoughtful gift in the mail today from my friend Jen. Jen and I met during my college years in Los Angeles, and we became friends when we both realized, ‘hey, maybe we’re both a little homesick right now’. We could talk about anything and I always loved stopping by at her apartment. I always knew I could have a good girl talk with Jen. Now, of course, we reside in different parts of the country (Me being in NY and Jen being in Ohio), but her thoughtfulness and consideration are just as admirable as when I met her four and a half years ago.

A Letter from Jen

And the surprise??

Home Made Cookies!

And not just any cookie. Cookies chock full of candy cane pieces, chocolate chips, walnuts, and butterscotch bits.. I can’t even begin to tell you. As soon as I unwrapped these suckers the aroma was more than I could take. Buttery, chocolatey, minty… I had to have one.

I took little chunks that were loaded with chocolate and candy cane. I also had to have a piece of the walnut and butterscotch. Not only did every single bite taste better than the bite before, but the gesture itself truly warmed my heart. Sometimes it’s easy to forget that there are actually people out there who are thinking of you and care. I need to work on remembering that.

Thank you, Jen, for being the absolute most wonderful friend ever!

Question of the Night: How do you keep in touch with friends that live far from you? Do you still have friends from when you were little?

3 responses to “A Friend In Need

  1. Pingback: Cascadian Farm Winner! |

  2. I have a lot of freinds that live overseas and we always keep in touch through Facebook, e-mails and snail mail. We also like to send mini packages every now and then 🙂

Leave a Reply

