Slammed

Hey, friends! How’s it going? Today was an incredibly busy one and I couldn’t be more happy for Friday. My plans for this weekend are to relax…. relax…. and relax. Obviously errands and obligations here and there, but for the most part, I plan to chill out. Let’s see how much I actually end up ‘chilling out’. Anyway, I know I have a winner to pick for the Stonefire give away, but before that, I want to tell you all a little dodgeball experience I had last night.

When I signed up for dodgeball, I really didn’t give a second thought to how ‘hardcore’ the other players may be. Maybe, naively, I just kind of assumed the entire league would be filled with ‘people like me’ (whoever that is), and would just be there to play an easy few games while meeting cool, fun people. Yes and no. Cool, fun people? Yes. A few easy games? Not so much. Some of these people are hardddd core! They’ve played dodgeball all their lives, they were the captains of their teams, and they don’t plan on stopping.

This is all good and well… until someone gets slammed in the face with a dodgeball.


source

That person, would be me. In between games last night, Britt and I sat with the rest of our team members to watch the other teams play. Being that we are in a high school gym, there’s not many other places to go between games. You kind of just risk it and hope for the best. About 30 seconds into the game, as I sat looking on, I turned my head for a split second and WHAM!!! my face and mind went completely numb. A dodgeball literally 70mph slammed right into my cheek. I couldn’t feel anything. The whole gym went ‘OOOHHHH!!!!!’. Embarrassing? I’m thinking so.

I’m shocked I didn’t act like a complete baby and start tearing up. All I wanted was an ice pack and to make sure that all of my teeth were in tact. Teeth? Check. Ice Pack? Got two of ’em (lucky me). Ehh.. ya win some, ya lose some. In happier news, we are going to the playoff’s next week! I’m happy to be able to play with my team mates another week. I’m going to miss them.

Alright so the moment you’re waiting for! The winner is #6, Health Freak College Girl! Please email me at StephSnacks@gmail.com with your name and mailing info so that Stonefire can send you the goods 🙂

Question of the Night: Have you ever been totally embarrassed? What happened??

2 responses to “Slammed

  1. Oh my goodness, that’s awful! That happened to me once. At least it makes a great story, right??

Leave a Reply

