A Cape Cod Thanksgiving

Hi there! How’s your Saturday so far? We went into town earlier and brought Spanky to the beach again. He is crazy about it! As promised, I wanted to show you the Thanksgiving feast my family and I enjoyed this past Thursday. Instead of preparing a meal at home, we decided to go out to eat and wound up having a great time. Our Thanksgiving Dinner was eaten at Captain Linnell House in Orleans, MA.

The Outside of Captain Linnell Table

Gill, my mom, and me before eating

Captain Linnell Table is an old home which was owned by a sea captain in the 1800’s. The interior is still incredibly old fashioned and the menu is comprised of good, hearty New England cuisine; seafood, steak, and chowder.

After ordering drinks (a glass of red zinfandel for me) we took a few pictures before deciding what to order:

The Parental Unit

Gill and her Dirty Martini

As an appetizer, my mom and I each ordered a cup of mushroom soup while Gillian and my dad went for the oysters.

Gill's Oysters

Sorry, I didn’t get a shot of the soup!

I was pretty shocked with how many options there were for dinner. There was a choice of turkey (of course!), ham, duck, sea bass, and salmon. I think there were one or two other choices but I was totally set on having my turkey!

Holy Thanksgiving!

The turkey was perfectly moist and the sides were amazing. The stuffing (which you don’t see because it’s underneath the turkey) was definitely my favorite side dish. I ate most of my plate, but not everything, it was just too much and I wanted to make sure I had room for dessert! I chose to order a piece of the pumpkin custard pie which was really good, but not fantastic. The dinner was way better than the dessert.

All in all, a fabulous was to spend Thanksgiving!

Question: Have you ever eaten out for a Holiday? Were you impressed with the food?

10 responses to “A Cape Cod Thanksgiving

  1. I have to say that I couldn’t eat Christmas dinner anywhere but at my mum’s, her cooking is that good! This looks great though and the pictures of the beach from your last post are gorgeous 🙂

  2. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    I think one year my family and I ate out on Christmas day. It was quite different. Haha. I’m glad you had a great thanksgiving and everything look delicious! 🙂

  3. OMG That turkey dinner looks PERFECT! Like seriously that is the perfect plate! I have never eaten out for a holiday but I wouldn’t really be opposed to doing so.

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’ve never eaten at a restaurant for Thanksgiving, and I don’t think I ever will be able to. My family usually hosts, and I’ve gotta say my mom can roast a mean turkey. Has that always been a tradition of yours?

  5. Looks delish! I’ve never eaten out for a holiday before, but from the looks of it, it’s worth trying!

Leave a Reply

