Flash Back

So yesterday, I went on a major flash back ‘trip’. My friend Rebecca and I decided to go to the American Museum of Natural History. I literally haven’t been to this museum since I was in elementary school — we used to take class trips to this museum all the time. It was definitely amazing to see some of the exhibits as an adult (I’m not an adult, I’m 24–so I’m in between an adult and a….I have no idea). Seriously though, it was great to walk around and just learn about some good history.

It feels like once you graduate college and go into your field of choice, you mainly learn about anything that relates to your particular field. Does anyone else feel this way? Maybe that’s why I enjoy reading about exercise and food so much — it’s a nice interest that gets me learning about new things.

Rebecca and I mainly went to the museum for the ‘Beyond Planet Earth’ exhibit, which is all about the history of space and the future of space exploration. It was pretty incredible. The fashionista in me was really amazed by how far the astronaut apparel has come:

I’d totally sport this running! šŸ™‚

We also looked at these guys…

Wouldn't Wanna Run into THAT!

It was also interesting to meander around the exhibits which were all about the history of Native Americans, the Asian Culture, and African American culture. To be honest, I was again really shocked by the fashion. I can’t help it. I kept looking at pieces that these people would wear and would think to myself, ‘um, I’d wear that today’. Fashion is definitely recycled people – let me just show you:

Ok so that ‘skirt’ you see there is an apron that African American women would wear while cooking. Cooking? I’d wear this out at NIGHT! Definitely. And that amazing necklace? Where can I get that? While looking at this, I read that the woman’s husband would prove his ‘manliness’ and rank by providing his wife with as many beads and accessories as possible. I guess that explains all of the embellishments.

The above is an example of what men would wear during the religious wars. Again, that mesh top is definitely something I’d see while out at night. So awesome that history definitely repeats itself.

Now I’m off to enjoy my Sunday afternoon! Have a great rest of your weekend, everyone šŸ™‚

Question of the Day: Do you consider yourself fashion-saavy? What are some of your favorite brands/designers? Where do you shop?

4 responses to “Flash Back

  1. What a fun day! I love museums, but I’ve never been to any NYC ones which is a shame! I need to change that ASAP! I’ve been looking for an excuse to get a Crumbs cupcake, maybe I should make a trip up to “visit the museums” šŸ˜‰

  2. I am not fashion forward at all! I like classic and timeless pieces. Nothing trendy is in my closet!

Leave a Reply

