A Week Off

Hey, all! How’s it going? Today is the first day that I am starting to feel a bit better from being sick. My fever is basically gone and I was able to sleep all through last night, which was awesome. I’m particularly happy that I’m beginning to feel better because I am going on a girls trip this weekend with my friend Rebecca, and being sick on a mini-vacation definitely didn’t sound like fun.

During these past few days that I’ve been sick, I haven’t gone to the gym. I know that I discussed taking a few days off from the gym in a blog post from last week, but this seems to be something I wanted to touch on a bit in today’s post. In my mind, I had decided that as soon as I felt better, I would get right back into the gym–which meant I’d likely use the hotel’s gym over this upcoming weekend. However, I kind of had a change of heart last night/early this morning.

You see, I can’t remember the last time I didn’t workout or go to the gym for a week. Actually, yes I do, it was two Summer’s ago when I went on a vacation to Italy with my family.

Me and My Sister in Florence

Yes, I had blonde hair. Most people never believe me. Anyway, so I’ve decided to give myself one FULL week of rest. For me, this is something that is really challenging. But I know that it’s what my body needs; it is so run down. Since I will be away starting Saturday morning and not returning until Monday evening, I won’t be getting to the gym until Tuesday.

For most people, this isn’t a big deal. But for someone who was literally a workout-centric person, it ain’t so easy. I don’t consider myself obsessed with working out anymore, I just truly enjoy it. But that doesn’t mean I don’t need a break from time to time. I definitely do, and I think right now is the time. It’s definitely been difficult over the past few days when reading my fellow lifestyle bloggers post about their awesome workouts, but I know I will be right back at it next week.

Also, I will likely be able to workout even better next week. It’s amazing what you’re body can do when you actually treat it nicely and give it some rest.

So those are my thoughts for the day, folks! Hope you’re having a wonderful week.

Question(s) of the Day:
1) What’s the longest you’ve ever gone without going to the gym or working out?
2) Are you doing anything fun for the long weekend?

7 responses to “A Week Off

  1. It’s been almost two weeks since I’ve had a nice sweat. I had a toe injury that prevented me from doing any foot pounding exercises so I just decidecided to give my body a rest. It felt good the first week, but now that my toe has healed- I’ve never felt so unmotivated and lethargic!! It’s amazing what exercise does for the body and mind. Can’t wait to get back on my groove…. Starting today! 🙂

  2. I have taken a couple days off this week, which is really rare. I find that if I miss one workout, it leads to two or three. But, after more than a week, I get cranky and have to make myself sweat. I love working out too much, not to do it.

  3. When I had mono last year, I had to quit my senior swim season early and then had two months off of exercise. It was horrible and my first workout felt like I had never worked out in my life! I also gained weight because I was able to eat comfortably before I was cleared for exercise!

  4. I’m glad your feeling better. People like to push themselves to the limit but if you don’t take time of. You can’t heal.

  5. Pingback: Quality vs. Quantity |

Leave a Reply

