Boston, Part 1

Hello, friends! I’ve been gone for a bit – but now I’m back! Between being sick almost all of last week and going away to Boston this past weekend, I wasn’t able to blog. I’m happy to report that I’ll be back on a regular blogging schedule (generally posting at night) and am looking forward to sharing my Presidents Day Weekend adventures with you! On Saturday morning, my friend Rebecca and I hopped on an 8:00 AM bus from NYC to Boston. I’d never been able to spend a significant amount of time in Boston, so I was definitely excited to explore.

As soon as we arrived, we checked out our hotel room before running around for the remainder of the afternoon:

Rebecca had talked up Quincy Market to me — so we headed straight there and grabbed a late lunch. We had each eaten a breakfast wrap from Starbucks from 8:00 AM, so by 1:00 PM we were starving! Quincy Market was super cute, and filled with tons of different food. Being that we were in New England, we really wanted fresh seafood.

…So fresh seafood we got!

A cup of seafood gumbo

..along with a baked clam

I loved both the gumbo and the baked clam — but something about the gumbo was perfect. There were sizeable pieces of fish in the soup and the broth was very flavorful. Right up my alley. Rebecca also had a baked clam as well as lobster salad:

I had a bite and it was really delicious! Not too much mayo, so you could really taste the lobster. After our meal, we decided to walk around for a while–but of course I wanted something sweet to balance out the savory lunch. Froyo it was!

Strawberry/Mocha/Chocolate Chips. 'Nuff Said.

After Quincy Market, we decided to hit up Newbury Street to walk around and shop a bit more before dinner:

I started not feeling too well a little while into our walk, so we decided to head back to the hotel to relax a little before going out to dinner. I managed to sneak in a nap, which was amazing! Around 7:30 we headed to dinner at a restaurant called 28 Degrees, which was pretty modern and trendy. Rebecca had purchased a deal off of Gilt, where each course came with a different wine pairing. It was a gift for my 24th birthday–such an awesome idea, and definitely fun for a girls weekend.

Once seated, we were given fresh bread with hummus and olive aioli. Let’s just say we asked for more of each.

Next was a salad with pomegranate and some other fruit–I think sliced peach? Totally forget.

Wine pairings:

As a main course, we had the option between mahi mahi and steak. Both Rebecca and I went for the mahi mahi which came with broccolini, fennel, and purple potatoes:

After the bread and wine we were both really full and ate about half of the mahi mahi. I just didn’t have any more room in my stomach! Both Rebecca and I loved the interior of 28 degrees along with the drinks we had ordered at the bar before we sat down to eat, but we didn’t love the food. Not sure if either of us would actually go back.

My Best Friend!

Mahself looking quite tired

Once we left 28 degrees, we managed to grab another round of drinks before calling it a night. Needless to say it was a great first day in Boston! Part 2 to come tomorrow…

Question of the Night: What did you do this Presidents Day Weekend?

5 responses to “Boston, Part 1

  1. I have never been to Boston, but it is on my list of places I want to see! Especially now that I have seen that bread/hummus/olive aioli! haha

  2. Thanks for the post, Steph. We’re glad to hear you liked 28 and we do hope we see you back!

    28 Degrees Co-Owner,
    Carl Christian

  3. Pingback: Boston – The Eats! Part 3 |

Leave a Reply

