Bunch-O-Stuff

Happy Thursday Night everyone! I’m so happy tomorrow is Friday πŸ™‚ I’m more than 100% sure that I’m not the only one, though. Like many of you, I was worshiping the weather gods today for the incredible sunshine – it was about 65 degrees in NYC and I enjoyed every moment of it (even though I was mainly inside at work all day)! However, I tried to enjoy it as much as possible by walking around outside for 20 minutes for a little break. It was fabulous to walk around without a jacket.

Originally, I had planned a workout for myself at the gym for this evening. I just couldn’t bring myself to go there knowing that the weather was basically resembling Spring. So what did I do instead? I decided to take a 30 minute run/walk by the water. My apartment is about 3 blocks from Hudson River and I absolutely love running on the path beside the water. Not only do I get a good workout in, but it clears my mind. Something about the water has always been therapeutic for me.

After my cardio session, I came back to my apartment and did two strength sets to work my abs, arms, and legs. I was a hot mess after doing both sets. Here’s what I did:

Set 1
-25 sit ups
-5 burpees
-20 single arm bicep curls–switch between right and left arms (I used 7.5 lb dumb bells)
-20 kickboxing punches (I used 7.5 lb dumb bells)
*Repeat set 4 times

Set 2
-3 sets of 10 reverse crunches
-3 sets of 20 mason twists
-3 sets of 12 lunges (holding a 7.5 dumb bell in each hand)
*Repeat set 3 times

Phew! Between the cardio and both sets, I felt this was an awesome workout.

Onto some other random sorta things; not every little aspect of my life makes it on the blog, but I wanted to share what I’ve been enjoying lately – ’cause sometimes the simple things are just plain nice.


Love mahhh’ fraaanns.

Getting photos of Spanky throughout the day isn’t half bad either:

Bought a bag of these today and I’m lovin’ them–did anyone know that there’s a new banana flavor?:

And finally, I’ve also been thinking a lot about this blog, and some changes I want to make:

So I’m hoping within the next few weeks I can introduce some new features on StephSnacks, but for now you’ll just have to wait! Yeah I know, I had to go there πŸ˜‰

Before signing off, I want to let you all know that a gentleman from Chef’s Diet reached out to me about giving any StephSnacks readers a great discount for the diet. If you’re interested, please contact him at JoeF@ChefsDiet.com for more details. Please say you learned about Chef’s Diet through StephSnacks!

Night, everyone πŸ™‚

10 responses to “Bunch-O-Stuff

  1. Nice workout! I love short but effective workouts such as that. Hope you have a nice weekend, Steph.

  2. Excited to hear about your new changes! That workout sounds great. I also love running when you enjoy the scenery and atmosphere… it makes it so much more pleasant!

  3. I love your strength set ideas! I really want to start incorporating more at-home workouts, especially since I noticed some high temps on the horizon for next week, too! I feel like I’ve be couped up in the gym for too long. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Erica! I’m going to start incorporating the sets into the blog a bit more πŸ™‚ And I am definitely going to working out outside much more, too.

  4. Looking forward to the changes you’re making πŸ˜€ ALSO, I totally forgot St. Patrick’s Day is coming up lol.

    Do you also have a million pictures of your pup? I know I do πŸ˜‰

    xo!

    http://www.ohonemorething.me

    • I have 872048204823 pics of my lil’ guy. Haha — it’s crazy. Yes! St. Patty’s is coming up in a couple weekends and as you can see here I’ve already started celebrating (….and I’m not Irish).

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    It’s so funny because 65 degrees to me would mean some jacket wearing. I know I know, I’m Florida weather-spoiled.

Leave a Reply

