Guayoyo

Happy Saturday morning, friends! Am I the only twenty four year old who can’t sleep in on weekends? It is incredibly annoying and depressing! I was up by 7:30 and am now forcing myself to stay in bed until at least 10:00 AM before making it to the gym. Anyway, I figured this would be the perfect time to type up a restaurant review from when I went out with a couple of my friends on Thursday night.

One of my friends, Krystyna, made it her New Year’s Resolution to try out as many different cuisines as possible–which I actually think is a pretty cool resolution. So when she texted my room mate Britt and I, asking us if we were game to try some Venezuelan, we both said ‘why not?’. We met at a restaurant called Guayoyo, which is on the lower east side. I was a little on the late side, but was happy to see a pitcher of red sangria sitting on the table upon my arrival πŸ˜‰

The server also brought us out some complimentary banana chips which came with a black bean dipping sauce. I loved both the banana chips and the dipping sauce, but not so much together.

We all decided that it would be nice to order a bunch of different dishes and split them, that way we could try as much as possible. The menu had so many delicious items to choose from — it was pretty difficult! Venezuelan cuisine is known for its arepas, which are basically ‘sandwiches’ that are made up of corn flour pockets–or you can call them white corn cakes. Anything can go inside — shredded chicken, beef, veggies, bacon, cheese, you name it.

Finally we were able to come up with some decisions – we ordered one veggie arepa (my request), one with bacon and shrimp (Britt and Danielle’s request), and another with shredded chicken, avocado, and carmelized onion.

I have to say, each one of these was really unique and all of the ingredients tasted really fresh. It was nice to actually taste each ingredient rather than have them slopped up in tons of different sauces. Speaking of sauces, the arepa’s were served with a side of a pretty spicy sauce for dipping–which was delicious.

My favorite arepa was the shredded chicken with avocado and carmelized onions. This combo just seemed perfect to me and the carmelized onions added a sweetness to the arepa. I actually also really liked the ‘bread’ of the arepa.. the corn flour made for the perfect crunch and wasn’t too heavy. Beware, though, arepa’s are sloppy to eat! Also, these sandwiches are on the smaller side, so splitting three amongst four girls was a perfect choice. We were each able to try all three without over-stuffing ourselves.

After our arepa-coma, we decided to split a couple other dishes for the table.

Yucca fries (which I promptly fell in love with):

Sauteed Shrimp:

Calamari (loved the citrusy mango sauce it was paired with):

All of the food was so delicious! The sharing aspect was perfect, too, because while we must admit this wasn’t the healthiest cuisine, we didn’t over-do it. I had a few bites of everything and was totally satisfied. Not to mention, the prices were really reasonable! Which is incredible for NYC. I would definitely go back to Guayoyo.

Before departing, a few more pictures from our delicious dinner:

In a short couple of months, my girlfriends and I are going to Aruba together for a week, so Krystyna wanted to get into the mood early by posing with a palm tree that was in the restaurant..

Now I’m off to download some more workout songs and head off to the gym for a cardio-heavy workout! Have a wonderful day πŸ™‚

Question: I’m currently in desperate need of workout music. Please share some of your favorite workout songs!!

8 responses to “Guayoyo

  1. That looks like so much fun!!! And as for sleeping in, I didn’t even go to bed until midnight and I was wide awake before six?!!?!? Why oh why does that happen?? I am already exhausted!

  2. I always wake up early! I really don’t mind it though. I wake up at 5:00 during the work week, so if I slept in until 9 or 10 on the weekends, I feel like I’d be in a constant struggle to get back in the groove of early wake-up calls!

    I LOVE calamari & haven’t had it in way, way too long!

    One of my favorite songs right now is “Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen!

  3. Looks like fun! I haven’t had arepas in forever, and I never knew they were Venezuelan. Are they popular in Mexican cuisine too? What an awesome New Year’s Resolution!

  4. Justine Duppong

    Your post is getting me even more excited for the backpacking trip my hubby and I are going on in Europe in a couple of weeks! I’m planning on posting lots of photos and stories on my blog throughout it, especially as I know we’ll try all kinds of new foods!

Leave a Reply

