One Year Later

I can’t even believe I’m saying this, but today is the one year ‘Blog-i-Versary’ of StephSnacks. One year ago today I had accomplished a half marathon in a little over two hours time and was still unsure of who the hell I was. I was still suffering with getting passed some lingering eating issues and was also unsure of what I wanted, period. My mind was going crazy and I felt zero sense of calm. Today, mostly everything is different. There are still things that bother me and I wish I could change, but I think that’s natural. Nothing is perfect. But you can make shit ass situations better with the proper attitude — that is a MAJOR thing StephSnacks has taught me. Reading about my life has made me realize how lucky I am to be doing so many awesome things at such a young age.

Originally, I told a few people about StephSnacks before I even ever hit the ‘publish’ button. Everyone was on board with the idea – I was just scared. Telling the world about my insecurities and short-comings seemed absolutely insane. But then there was the side of me that knew I could probably help other people through the thoughts that consume them, too. One year later, I can honestly say that I feel more free than ever and am an almost completely confident person. There was a lot of loss in 2011, including the death of my two grandparents, and it made me buck up, move forward, and realize there are just some things that don’t make sense in life:

StephSnacks has introduced me to so many new ‘blog’ friends, awesome food/beverage companies, and to my own funny personality. When I suffered with an ED, my personality went out the window. I was no longer funny – I was completely reserved and just wanted to be left alone. Now I joke around like it’s my job and just want to be laughing all the time:

So with that, I just want to say thank YOU. Thank you for reading, for commenting, for emailing, for giving your opinion. I love, love, love when I hear back from readers and I know that this is why I continue to blog. I’ve helped, if only a few, amazing people who deserve happiness in their lives. So again, thank you for reading my little blog. I appreciate you so much ❤

-Steph

14 responses to “One Year Later

  1. ittybitsofbalance

    Happy one year, Steph! Isn’t it amazing to look back at old posts and see how much our blogging voices and styles change? I’m so glad to see you’ve come so far, and am sure that only good things will come from here!

  2. and to think one year ago, you were asking if the blog was a good idea because you were just thinking about it…you did your first post after we ran the half…..congrats!!

  3. Ahhhh happy blog-i-versary!! I am so glad to have met you through this! You are one awesome lady, and I love reading your posts!

  4. readytogetsweaty

    Happy blog-i-versary! I’m so happy I found your blog and love reading it 🙂 You’ve accomplished so much and I love the fact that you’ve taken notice, most people don’t. Keep up the good work girl!

  5. Happy Blog-i-versary Steph! 🙂 Hm, I think you should treat yourself to a Crumbs cupcake to celebrate!

  6. Yayyyyyy happy blogiversary Steph! Love ya girl 🙂

  7. Justine Duppong

    Congrats Steph! I think what you’re doing is wonderful. It’s hard to talk about our eating struggles, but it’s so important…and I think it gets easier with time 🙂

Leave a Reply

