Two Necessities

Hey there! How’s your week been so far? Tomorrow’s already Wednesday and I’m looking forward to it even more because I have dinner plans with my room mate and two of our friends. I don’t know about you, but I love doing dinner and drinks with friends throughout the week because it seems that the weekend comes so much quicker!

I wanted to do a little review of a workout class I attended as well as a massage I had this past Sunday. My sister happens to be the best in the world and got me a gift card to Exhale Spa this past Christmas. The gift card included an hour long massage as well as an hour workout class. I had the option of choosing yoga or core fusion for my workout. I must admit, I was truthfully really looking forward to the massage because I hadn’t had one in about eight months and between working out, walking around the city, and sitting at a desk, it was time.

As soon as I walked into Exhale I felt relaxed:

But I couldn’t relax for too long because my Core Fusion class started within twenty minutes of me walking into the spa. Core Fusion is explained as a ‘challenging barre-based workout, which combines core work with Pilates, yoga, ballet and dance principles to stretch, tone, and lengthen muscles like never before’. Um… yea. So I seem to have thought I was in shape but this class proved me wrong. Okay, I take that back… a little. I know that I am in shape, but this class made me realize that I don’t switch it up enough.

My muscles were screaming throughout the class and I felt completely challenged. This is one necessity I realized needs to happen way more often in my workout routine; switching it up. I think I will continue to go to Exhale classes here and there just to challenge myself and keep my muscles guessing.

After the class, I showered in the gorgeous locker room and then waited in the lounge for my glorious 60 minute massage:

I really loved how clean everything was. During my college years I worked at a spa to make extra money and was always really finicky about everything being sterilized and clean because I thought of how I would feel if I was paying for an expensive massage. I’m happy to report that Exhale was impeccable and I haven’t felt more relaxed in a very long time.

I’m also incredibly happy to report that my massage was absolutely amazing. The massage therapist worked through all of my toughest muscles and craziest knots. There were moments during the massage that actually hurt because of how tight some spots were. But I felt much, much better after my session. After the massage I also realized how necessary massages are. I used to get a massage every four months but somehow this year my money has gone elsewhere and time has just passed me by. However, it’s really important to take care of our bodies – especially if you workout a lot.

Before signing out, I want to announce the winner of the Cascadian Farm give away:

Kim Whitbeck! Please email me at StephSnacks@gmail.com with your mailing address 🙂

Have a great night everyone!

Question of the Night: How do you switch up your workout’s?

3 responses to “Two Necessities

  1. I took a barre-style class once & thought it was VERY difficult. I went in with the same attitude… like eh, how hard can it be, I work out all of the time… but my muscles were burning pretty much as soon as the class started!

  2. Pingback: Family Day/Friends Night |

Leave a Reply

