Sushi and Sake

Happy Saturday! How has your weekend been so far? I just finished up a great workout and am relaxing a bit before I clean my apartment. It needs some taking care of but not before I rest a little 🙂 Life lately has been go, go, go and I can just tell that my body and mind are exhausted — so the cleaning comes after I take care of myself.

Last night I traveled to Ridgewood, New Jersey to see my friend Jenn’s apartment. Jenn lives with her boyfriend, Ryan, who is a wonderful guy. I couldn’t be more happy that they were able to find such a beautiful and comfortable place to live! After checking out their place, we all headed out for sushi and drinks. Ryan and Jenn brought me to a great place and I can’t rave enough about how delicious the sushi was.

Jenn and I decided to split a bottle of red while Ryan drank his beloved sake. Ryan is somewhat obsessed with sake and we were all trying to think about if it may be considered ‘healthier’ than other alcoholic beverages so I did a little research and this is what I found:

‘Sake can help reduce the risk of cancer as well as help prevent Cirrhosis, Arteriosclerosis, Cardiac Infarction, Osteoporosis, and aging and senility.’ (source). Huh — who’d have thought?

We started the meal with edamame:

We decided to split a total of four rolls between us (plus we ordered an extra roll after we finishd the first four.. so I guess that means we really split a total of five) and each roll was better than the last. I was so impressed with the quality of the fish and how delicious the rolls were. I’d happily go back!

After dinner, we stopped by a bar for some drinks before calling it a night:

Now I’m off to rest some more and get to that cleaning! Have a great rest of your weekend 🙂

4 responses to “Sushi and Sake

  1. Sooo many bloggers have been posting about sushi & it’s making me crave it like crazy! I’ve never tried sake… not sure I’d like it!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. I need to give sake a go again. I tried it one time, and wasn’t a fan…but seems like everyone loves it! Gotta try it again 🙂

Leave a Reply

