A Weekend in Long Island

Hello there, peeps! How was your Monday? I kind of can’t believe it’s over already… I surely don’t mind πŸ™‚ This past weekend my room mate Brittany and I went out to visit her family in Long Island; it was such a great escape from the city. As much as I adore living in New York City, it can sometimes be a bit overwhelming. I know I have mentioned before (kind of lately), but the past two months have been insane – so busy somehow – and I haven’t found the time to relax whatsoever. Enter this weekend.

Friday night, Britt’s parents made us a delicious dinner of ribs and some sort of quinoa/five grain salad. The five grain salad included sun dried tomato’s and feta cheese — it could not have been more delicious. Let’s be clear here, people — I’m not really a ‘ribs’ kind of girl. For the amount of tofu and salads you see on this blog, I’m pretty sure you believe me. But it wasn’t until I had the ribs that I sort of realized I’ve been missing out! After dinner, we all vegged out and watched TV. It wasn’t too long before I was out like a light. I haven’t slept the way I slept this weekend and it was beyond incredible. I missed sleep so much. Need to get in back into my life.

When Saturday rolled around, all we really wanted to do was go to the beach, but since the weather was kind of on and off with clouds, so we decided to do what most girls would do.. SHOP! I am a professional shopper. Put me in a store and I can make something work in my wardrobe. If I didn’t work in Cosmetic Marketing I would love my career to go one of three ways… something in nutrition/fitness, editorial, or a stylist. I digress. We did damage:

And then went home to celebrate:

By the time we got home, we were all kind of hungry which turned out to be perfect because Britt’s dad had quite the meal planned for us. On the menu? Mediterranean chicken and stuffed eggplant. Yeah, we were absolutely spoiled food-wise this weekend. Britt’s dad let us help him out with the cooking and I definitely learned a thing or two.

After dinner, the girls decided it was time for a ‘girls night’ complete with party crashing.. yes you heard me correctly! πŸ˜›

Let’s just say we succeeded.

Sunday was fantastic as it was spent on Britt’s parents boat. We went tubing and had the best time. My arms are pretty sore today after fighting for my life in the water<–insert over-dramatics here.

Britt and I returned to our apartment Sunday night really tired and really full from all of the incredibly delicious food we ate this weekend. I started off fresh today–with a workout done by 7:30 AM and I have been eating clean all day. For the next few weeks I will be keeping a small food journal on my iPhone just to keep tabs on what I am eating and drinking.

As I have mentioned before, I've definitely been spluring throughout the Summer. Happy Hour's turned into later nights, indulgent foods on weekends, and Friday's and Saturday's mainly spent out on the town (does anyone say out on the town anymore?) I really need to watch a bit more. I'm totally okay with keeping a food journal for the next few weeks – it's not a forever thing – and it can only help me πŸ™‚

Question(s) of the night: How was your weekend? What did you do? What are some steps you take trying to watch what you are eating a bit closer?

4 responses to “A Weekend in Long Island

  1. Looks like such a fun weekend!! Those ribs look amazing. I’m a sucker for barbeque. I am definitely in the same boat…this summer has definitely be splurge-worthy. I use livestrong.com to watch calories/journal. Their iPhone app is super convenient. I’m not super strict about my caloric intake, but it’s nice to keep track.

  2. Looks like you had a great weekend!

    Ribs are sooo good!

    I’ve definitely been indulging more throughout this summer than I do during the school year, so I’m hoping my eating habits “naturally” return to normal once I’m back at work (next week).

Leave a Reply

