Straight Up

Here’s the part where I go all Carrie Bradshaw on you. I wanted to center this post around maintaining happiness. The other day, a couple of my friends and I were talking about how great it would be to be making more money, maybe be famous, and just have an endless wardrobe–as a girl working in cosmetics/fashion, one can never have too many tops or fabulous earrings.

At some point during the conversation, one of my friends said, “I’m already 25, so what do I have to do right now to get to where I want to be by 30?”. I replied, “The only thing I am concerned with right now is being happy every day–not where I’ll be at 30. Because if I’m happy, then I’ll always get to where I want to be, and I’ll always be at my best”. It took a long time for me to be able to even say something like that. But it’s true–happiness is the key.

Being ultimately happy is a choice and something that you sometimes have to work on like anything else. I’m not always thrilled about every single situation but I am lucky enough to have many opportunities that keep me cracking up, smiling, listening, learning, and absorbing life.

Sometimes I feel this rush – and not in a good way. Rush to get to the top of your career, rush to be in a settled relationship, rush to finish every errand, everything on the check list. How about chilling out with all the rushing and start enjoying freaking LIFE? I’m guilty of it — the rushing. But I’m also completely over it. Of course we all have day-to-day routines and obligations but that doesn’t mean you can’t slow down every now and then and take a thirty minute lunch here or there. Or maybe stop feeling guilty about buying that last latte? Or maybe cut yourself some slack for missing a workout? Maybe? Yes, definitely.

When you’re happy, it shows. It shows on your face and is the most beautiful type of radiance that there is. So, yes, my real true concern for right now is happiness. While not everything isn’t exactly where I want it to be, that’s okay, because that’s life, and not everything has to be figured out right now.

Before signing off, I recently had a reader, Sarah, reach out to me asking for help. Her friends daughter Hailey is suffering with a rare form of brain cancer called AT/RT. If you have a moment, please click here to read more about Hailey’s condition, and if you have the means, to donate to her cause.

Goodnight guys 🙂

9 responses to “Straight Up

  1. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Well written. I can totally relate to the “rush” you are talking about. It is so helpful to take a step back and reflect on what is really important and what really matters. Here’s a life of happiness!

  3. What a great outlook! I feel the rush so much…but I’m avoiding it and not looking for jobs yet because I just want to take a little break to enjoy life 🙂 Maybe just sub a bit before settling for something serious?!

  4. Pingback: WIAW#41..Happiness « Rhythm of My Mind

  5. Nothing wrong with a little Carrie Bradshaw at time! I love it!

Leave a Reply

