Mayhem

As most of you already know by now, most of the NYC area has been terribly impacted by Hurricane Sandy. Downtown is absolutely devastated and our subway system won’t be working for quite some time. I am proud to say that I live in a city that is so resilient and strong, but I think we were all shaken up by the power that Sandy had . On my way to work today, I was able to get a shot of the crane that has been dangling off the top of a building on 57th street.

My porch also looked like this when I woke up on Tuesday:

But quite honestly, I was one of the lucky ones. If a porch is all I have to worry about, it’s not so bad.

This post is short and sweet — hope you all have an amazing night and a Happy Halloween!

Question of the Night: To all my East Coast peeps – were you affected by Sandy?

15 responses to “Mayhem

  1. Glad to hear you’re ok Steph! We definitely experience the crazy weather here in PA, but luckily we didn’t lose power or have any damage!

  2. Glad to hear you are ok. I was one of the lucky ones too. I only had my first floor get some water from the high tide. Only my rugs are ruined. Many of my fellow staten islanders where not as lucky.

  3. ittybitsofbalance

    Ay ay ay– I’m so thankful to hear that you’re alright! You were in my thoughts on Monday.

    And I saw that crane on the news!

  4. I’m really glad to hear you are okay. I agree about how strong NYC is. It is crazy how fast the city can recover after a serious storm. Living near Syracuse NY, we missed the brunt of the storm. Just lots of wind.

  5. We had some pretty intense winds at points – but I cannot complain at all – especially knowing the impact Sandy had on NYC & NJ and in other places. I have a cousin in Astoria and another in Hoboken…thankfully they’re both alright. Glad you’re okay!!!!

  6. I am so happy that that’s all that you had affected! So many people had it much worse!

    • I know – I feel so, so badly for all of those people who are going days without power/water. I primarily feel terribly for those who lost everything 😦 I can’t imagine.

  7. glad you are ok. i live in hoboken but also was very lucky, despite just getting power back tonight. i notice a lot of other blogs outside of ny/nj area don’t even mention the storm – huge disaster to us, but i guess not so much outside the area?!

Leave a Reply

